Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

100 AMP electrical service in home, should I install Wall Connector Gen3?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi everyone,

I am pretty new to the Tesla world, and want to know if I should install Wall Connector Gen 3 for my Model Y. I just found my electrical panel is showing 100 on the fuse box. And my stove & heat are using gas and wash machine & dryer are electrical.

Hope to get some direction from you guys.

Thanks

The Tesla Wall Connector can be configured for use on any circuit from 15A up to 60A so you can install the Wall Connector on a dedicated charging circuit that fits your charging needs and does not exceed the available capacity of your home's 100A service. 60A may not be possible but your electrician can determine whether 50A/40A/30A/20A/15A can be added.

I am pretty new to the Tesla world, and want to know if I should install Wall Connector Gen 3 for my Model Y. I just found my electrical panel is showing 100 on the fuse box. And my stove & heat are using gas and wash machine & dryer are electrical.

You are going to be hard pressed to make this work. Generally a 200 amp service is recommended. Contact a local electrician.
That is a really bad overgeneralization.
You can do a load calculation on your house with your home electrical service to find out how much spare amps of capacity you have to add a new circuit. Then you know how big of a circuit you can add. That has NOTHING to do with whether it's a wall connector or not. The wall connector is a configurable device, so even if you can only put in a 15 or 20 amp circuit, you could still put a wall connector on that if you want.

My house has a 125A main service, but my house is only 1600 square feet, so not all that large, and there was certainly room to add a circuit. People don't always need 200A service.

Reactions: GSP