Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

1400 mile below freezing Model Y LR Road Trip

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hey Guys,

I'm going to be driving on Tuesday and Wednesday about 700 miles from Denver, CO to Fort Scott, KS. I've never done this before in the winter (and only done this drive once before in September when the temperature was warmer) so this would be an adventure to say the least. I'm planning on staying I-70 all the way rather than taking any smaller roads incase there are any issues I can get some support.

The drive Tuesday we'll have about 19 degrees for a low. Wednesday should be high of 32 and low of 20s. I'm okay with these temperatures as it seems like the car should be fine but any tips and suggestions for the long drive? I've read up on pre-conditioning and setting the departure times so that the car is warm by the time I head out. I also read up on decrease in the range so I should probably keep a 20% arrival buffer just incase rather than 10% which I did in September? Is there anything else I should be on the lookout for during the drive?

The bigger question I have is that while i'm there, the temperatures on Thursday and Friday will be -10 at night and 2 as a high with snow. I'm staying at a hotel that has a destination charger so I can plug it in there. I'm assuming I should leave it plugged in as much as possible at night (Hopefully no one else is there in their tesla..its kansas after all). Should i be worried about the 12 volt battery? doors getting stuck, windows getting stuck? Ect? Has anyone been in these conditions that can offer some real life experience in these conditions?