Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

$1950 delivery charge?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

Trnsl8r

S85 2012-2018, X90 since 2016, 3 since 2018
Aug 20, 2011
San Jose, CA
OK, so I've seen this mentioned in several Roadster posts and have to ask... Do note that I'm a newbie to all this and have never bought a new car.

What is the $1950 delivery charge (that Roadster buyers pay) for exactly? Granted, the Model S is not a cheap car and maybe some call it penny pinching to complain an additional $2k here or there, but I live 20 minutes away from the factory in Fremont, paying that cash for mere delivery... well, that's a pretty high mileage rate...

Again, maybe I'm ignorant, but you don't learn unless you ask. What am I missing?

Since you live that close, maybe they'll be able to work something out for the Model S but they delivered my car to Texas in one of those transport trucks so that's what the fee is for.

Correct! In fact, Tesla has set up a whole staging area at the end of the factory for people to come and receive their Model S. They have a bamboo wood raised ramp that will show off one's car as it rolls out of the factory and into the owner's hands. The delivery charge is for the transportation of the Model S to a Tesla store (or owner's house?). I believe it's more expensive than we might be used to because they're planning on transporting the Model S in enclosed car haulers as opposed to open ones (that expose the car to the elements), and that costs more money.

I remember seeing that bamboo floor, but I was under the impression that after it hit there, they still drove it off and onto the indoor test area which included rub strips and a water sealant test tank. So it's definitely not the end of the line.