Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

2016 Model S Battery Heater Question

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I recently bought a 2016 Model S 75D with 40k miles on it and everything was great until I got a BMS_W035 code with no regen and limited acceleration. I read on here everything I could find and figured it may be the battery heater. I just replaced that, disconnected the HV loop and negative numerous times to purge the air and it’s still in the same previous condition. When I precondition the car to warm the battery, the heater unit and the hoses going in and out remain very cold. I would think I’d be able to feel some warmth if the heater was working, but I don’t know how to test it. I am new to this and in need of advice. In the short time I have owned this car, I have learned a lot on here. Thanks in advance.

Adam

I recently bought a 2016 Model S 75D with 40k miles on it and everything was great until I got a BMS_W035 code with no regen and limited acceleration. I read on here everything I could find and figured it may be the battery heater. I just replaced that, disconnected the HV loop and negative numerous times to purge the air and it’s still in the same previous condition. When I precondition the car to warm the battery, the heater unit and the hoses going in and out remain very cold. I would think I’d be able to feel some warmth if the heater was working, but I don’t know how to test it. I am new to this and in need of advice. In the short time I have owned this car, I have learned a lot on here. Thanks in advance.

Adam