TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

2019.40.50.1 voice commands UK

Discussion in 'The UK and Ireland' started by geek73, Dec 29, 2019.

  1. geek73

    geek73 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    London
    Has anyone had much luck with the new voice commands in the latest update?

    Looking at Youtube it seems that US owners seem to have many more commands available than I seem to be able to use.

    Not sure if its a US vs UK thing or just my car's voice recognition it faulty. eg "show me the rear camera" or "show me tyre pressures" - response is "Command not understood"

    Also noticed that often you say a command and the car doesnt respond at all, you have to try 2 or 3 times to get it to display the text of what it thinks youre saying
     
  2. Cwmwd

    Cwmwd Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2019
    Messages:
    180
    Location:
    Wales/UK
    Have you tried it with a Californian accent?
     
    • Funny x 2
  3. klib

    klib Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2019
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    Stratford
    It's broken. They've just released 2019.40.50.5 and they're still broken.
     
    • Like x 1
  4. drewpost

    drewpost Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2017
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Surrey, United Kingdom
    I think you’re right. I tried a few that were shown working in the US and they didn’t work here in the UK with my car. It’s not an accent issue with me - I’m from California!
     
    • Funny x 2
    • Like x 1
  5. Adopado

    Adopado Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2019
    Messages:
    2,835
    Location:
    Scotland
    Yes, I agree that the accent theory is a red herring. I'm sure there's some technical issue to be sorted out but another major factor appears to be the quality of your data connection at the time of using the voice recognition.
     
  6. geek73

    geek73 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    London
    im increasingly finding that there is no response whatsover to voice commands even when i have LTE reception or even when the car is on my house wifi. infuriating, espeicially when you see our american friends seemingly using tonnes of commands without a hitch! earlier today the car recognised "open charge port" without a problem and a few hours later it seems totally confused by the same command. go figure...
     
  7. spon88

    spon88 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2019
    Messages:
    501
    Location:
    Derby
    Mine were pants today. I was out early doors for an MTB ride so figured it may not be a congestion issue. Also the (already dodgy) phone call recognition was awful. Something clearly not right!
     
    • Like x 1
  8. xdcthedoc

    xdcthedoc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2019
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    uk
    Completely and utterly broken. Usually doesn't respond to my voice at all now. When it does pick up a command it doesn't recognise it.

    Very frustrating.

    Glad not just me mind.
     
  9. geek73

    geek73 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    London
    just installed 2019.40.50.5.....and still utterly useless on voice commands. cant see any improvements at all
     
  10. VanillaAir_UK

    VanillaAir_UK Moderator UK and Ireland

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2019
    Messages:
    6,638
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    It is widely reported that voice recognition is done on various servers not within the software itself - explains why they work some times and not others.
    Also reported are current server issues.
    So may be transient issues right now and hopefully the server issues a short hiccup on way to a longer term fix.
    fingers crossed
     
  11. spon88

    spon88 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2019
    Messages:
    501
    Location:
    Derby
    Just installed 50.5 (didn't jump to 7) and the voice interpretation seemed a lot better car-side. However everything other than the wing mirror and glove box commands didn't actually do anything. So progress but still a way off. Aware that there are possibly some server issues. Hopefully we're getting close now....
     
  12. SDRick

    SDRick Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,426
    Location:
    SD CA United States
    Guys, it looks like Tesla changed the microphone protocol. Use one push\release with the mic button only. Worked for me!

    Very surprised that the new microphone protocol (one click instead of two) is not mentioned in the update notes!
     
  13. NorfolkMustard

    NorfolkMustard Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2019
    Messages:
    2,064
    Location:
    M3P w/FSD
    I think most of the earlier posters in the thread have Model 3s, which have always needed a single press of the right-scroll-wheel (or a tap of the microphone icon on the screen)
     
  14. SDRick

    SDRick Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,426
    Location:
    SD CA United States
    That makes sense. Most of the complaints of voice commands being totally broken have been model X and model S folks.
     
  15. geek73

    geek73 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    London
    updated my model 3 to 2019.40.50.7....still rubbish voice commands and no backup camera or ability to open/close various menus like US owners can.

    anyone know if this is an ongoing uk server side issue? doesnt seem to be anything to do with the firmware or else the last two updates would surely have fixed it by now?
     
  16. rotor2k

    rotor2k Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2019
    Messages:
    454
    Location:
    London
    I updated to .7 last night and tried a bunch of commands this morning. All worked seamlessly. Was very happily impressed.
     
  17. Keeper

    Keeper Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2019
    Messages:
    424
    Location:
    Surrey GB
    My voice commands have not yet worked for some time and despite now being on version 2019.40.50.7. I wonder if I am saying the right command.

    Could we elect a standard command that we can all use and always use as a test to check if voice command is working on our car. Can someone who knows that their commands works on version 50.7 choose a command and give the exact words spoken that get a response. (a command that does not require a mobile phone). We can all then use that exact phrase or phrases as a benchmark. Suggestions?
     
  18. Jonslatt

    Jonslatt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2019
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Malvern, UK
    Tried “My butt is cold” this morning and it worked in turning the driver’s seat on. Likewise “My passenger’s butt is cold” also worked much to the amusement of my son.
     
  19. Electric Dream

    Electric Dream Pilots the Millennium Milkfloat

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,532
    Location:
    UK
    Just use the example they give in the release notes for the rear camera. It refuses to work for me and others. I'm on 50.7.
    It's interpreting my voice correctly, so why can't it execute the command?
     

    Attached Files:

  20. pgkevet

    pgkevet Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2019
    Messages:
    1,040
    Location:
    mid wales
    Typical Tesla - software update : new feature : doesn't work. It's called feature complete - knows what to do but can't be arsed.
    Same in my S today 50.7 and won't even 'stop navigation' now.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC