Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

2021 Model Y long range real world range

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I have been driving Model Y in Alberta, Canada for last 2 months. I mostly drive on highways ranging from 110 to 120kmph speed on cruise control. I have been getting the range around 400km per full battery charging equivalent. On colder days like today (-13 c) even less. Tesla says it’s because less aerodynamic shape of Y. However, how could it be off by 20% on warm sunny day? After all EPA says 525km range on a full charge and all I get is 400. Anybody else have any different range than I do?

I have been driving Model Y in Alberta, Canada for last 2 months. I mostly drive on highways ranging from 110 to 120kmph speed on cruise control. I have been getting the range around 400km per full battery charging equivalent. On colder days like today (-13 c) even less. Tesla says it’s because less aerodynamic shape of Y. However, how could it be off by 20% on warm sunny day? After all EPA says 525km range on a full charge and all I get is 400. Anybody else have any different range than I do?

This article explains the EPA rating which is part of it . But the Cold in general will impact your range by about 19%

The Secret Adjustment Factor Tesla Uses to Get Its Big EPA Range Numbers