Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

20amp/120v charging vs. 15 amp/240v

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Let me say in advance that I am not an electrician by any means lol...

I have a NEMA 5-20 outlet in my garage. From what I am reading, since I have an open slot on the panel next to this breaker and nothing else on the circuit, I could convert it to a 240V NEMA 6-15. Seems like the charge rate is not a whole lot different but everyone says 240V is more efficient so I just don't want to be wasting electricity that isn't getting funneled into my battery.

I have a wall charger going in at work so I won't need to do a ton of charging at home.

Tx,
Trace

Not true. A 240v only like the 6-15 only requires two hots and a ground. A 120/240 like a 15-40 should have a neutral.
Right. The Tesla does not require a neutral.

On capacity, you should pull max 80% sustained from a circuit. So at 120v, you can pull 16 A = 1920 W, or at 240v (with 15 A breaker) you can pull 12 A = 2880 W, which is 50% more than the 120v.

In either case, you have a relatively slow charge rate. My advice would be to save your nickels & dimes and eventually (hire someone to) put in a NEMA 14-50. This gives much more flexibility for being able to get a good charge at home in cases where you need this without having run somewhere else

Reactions: MorrisonHiker
I have a NEMA 5-20 outlet in my garage. From what I am reading, since I have an open slot on the panel next to this breaker and nothing else on the circuit, I could convert it to a 240V NEMA 6-15. Seems like the charge rate is not a whole lot different but everyone says 240V is more efficient so I just don't want to be wasting electricity that isn't getting funneled into my battery.