Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

240 in the garage. cost?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

Peelz

Budding EV fanatic.
Apr 10, 2021
SE Iowa, the armpit.
So we ordered the Y, I figured Id just run a outlet to the garage, a nema 14-50. I bought all the stuff, even went with 6 gauge wire. Ive done this before adding a dryer in two houses, but im no pro.

It just needs to run up the wall and across my family room(originally the garage) and down into the NOW garage. its about 14 ft straight line, 25 ft of wire. Seemed simple, so I Crawled in the attic then I chickened out! lol tight fit, have to go through insulation, and I have crap tools. Charging a nearly 60k dollar car, Ill let the pros do it. Its different thana drying clothes.

I have called two companies for quotes. the car is delayed longer than i thought so there's no hurry. Im curious: its only a 100 amp box. breakers on it add up to over a hundred as it is i think. (never use that much and Ill only be charging at night around 28-30 amps)

I'm sort of nervous one of the electricians will come in and tell me its a no go and I have to upgrade the whole shebang or add a second panel. Wonder.... what could the worst case scenario be?

Based on the forum here and suggestions last year, I went out to the site Thumbtack.com and got a local electrician to come in and give a quote plus do the install. As others have said, the price will vary a lot based on how old your house is, how far you are from the panel and other factors.

I'm going to suggest that you bring in a licensed electrician, a good one. Good ones aren't cheap and cheap ones aren't good.

yes I suppose the post is misleading but this is exactly what ive done. I was concerned about cost surprises lol