TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

$2700 to fix MCU. Might DIY, but how much to reprogram new unit?

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by Pmacafee, Jul 21, 2017.

  1. Pmacafee

    Pmacafee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    San Francisco
    So we took the 2013 Model S to the shop when the screen went black. We were beginning to get bubbles on each side of the screen as well. So it looks like the MCU croaked. The repair is $2700 and a premium MCU and screen is available online for $1100. But the seller says that it will need to be programmed by Tesla. Does anyone know what that cost might be?
     
  2. kev1n

    kev1n Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Messages:
    402
    Location:
    Bay Area
    i would give Tesla a call to see if they would program it
     
  3. Pmacafee

    Pmacafee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    San Francisco
    I thought it might piss them off, turning down the repait work and then asking them to program the used unit I put in. But I just picked the car up and the rep was not sure they could reprogam it and said if they could it would take a "long time" and the charge would be about $175. Too many people have swapped these units so it must be able to be done.
     
    • Informative x 1
  4. MP3Mike

    MP3Mike Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,927
    Location:
    Oregon
    You should reach out to @Ingineer as I think he can help you get an MCU reprogrammed for your car.
     
    • Like x 3
  5. gaswalla

    gaswalla P4201/85/airsusp/pano/19i

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,567
    Location:
    San Diego
    Agree with above post
     
  6. Pmacafee

    Pmacafee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    San Francisco
    So it looks like @Ingineer is definitely the go-to guy about the screen and MCU, but I am in SF Bay area and he is in NY. And it seems that he has a backlog of service requests way into the future. What a great resource!
    I think I will have to leave it to my local service center to get it up and running.
     
  7. Pmacafee

    Pmacafee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Not sure how to contact him on this forum. Can see the posts that he participated in but I guess I am a little klutz at pinging someone.
     
  8. bkp_duke

    bkp_duke Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    906
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Most likely the LCD is only bad on your current MCU. If audio still works, then it is likely just the LCD went out.

    Replacing ONLY the LCD, and keeping the current circuitry, would mean that no re-program is necessary. (i.e. swap the LCD in from a new, good unit)

    The hard part is you have to pull apart half the dash to do this, and then take the MCU apart. I just did it yesterday, about 2 hours work if you are experienced, 4+ if this is your first time. If you were closer, I would walk you through it in person.
     
    • Informative x 2
    • Like x 1
    • Love x 1
  9. SageBrush

    SageBrush 2018: Drain the Sewer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    4,496
    Location:
    Colorado
    Huh. I thought he lived in Berkeley
     
    • Like x 1
  10. MP3Mike

    MP3Mike Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,927
    Location:
    Oregon
    I thought most of the times that the MCU went blank is because the flash chip ran out of storage/was worn out because of excessive writing. (The only time the LCD has been bad is because of leaking goo.)
     
  11. bkp_duke

    bkp_duke Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    906
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    He has a bubble LCD. Anyway, if the music is still playing then most likely it is the display itself, and not the computer in the MCU. Anyway, of course no guarantees till proper troubleshooting is performed.
     
  12. Pmacafee

    Pmacafee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Thanks for all the posts. There is no music and the Tesla shop said it was the MCU that died. On YouTube I found the accelerated video of a MCU/screen swap and then took my laptop to my local service shop that specializes in limo work. I showed the video to the shop owner and 3 service writers. They said they take screens out of all kinds of luxury cars and thought they could do it. So I thought I would get the premium MCU available on EBay in SoCal and have the shop replace it and then go back to the Tesla shop and have them program it.
     
    • Like x 1
  13. Pmacafee

    Pmacafee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #13 Pmacafee, Jul 23, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2017
    I watched the sped-up video of a swap on YouTube and during the extraction the guy goes around to the frunk to do something. Not sure what that is about. Can you pass along some pointers or aspects that we need to be careful about?
     
  14. bkp_duke

    bkp_duke Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    906
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    He's probably pulling the 12v battery lead. It's not an absolute requirement, but is best practice.
     
  15. FlatSix911

    FlatSix911 918 Hybrid

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4,063
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    How far out of the 50K mile/4 year warranty are you? Perhaps you can get some goodwill from Tesla service? :cool:
     
  16. SeminoleFSU

    SeminoleFSU Voluntaryist

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    939
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Please keep us updated on this! For those of us who didn't opt for the Ext warranty, it could come in very handy!! :)
     
  17. Pmacafee

    Pmacafee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    San Francisco
    135K, limousine company.
     
    • Informative x 1
  18. Pmacafee

    Pmacafee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Ordered the screen today,Shipping was around $20 coming from L.A.
     
    • Like x 1
  19. SeminoleFSU

    SeminoleFSU Voluntaryist

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    939
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    wow you have 135k miles? How's your MS holding up other than this screen problem?
     
  20. Pmacafee

    Pmacafee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    San Francisco
    I think we are on drivetrain #5 and it is now that one clunking intermittently, so maybe we take that one back in. We are on battery charger #2 and battery rebuild #3. We had most of the upgrades (wind noise on the door windows, etc). We had a left rear door handle start to go bad, took it to the shop and they fiddled with it and wanted to replace it, but afterwards no problems so we did not replace it.
     
    • Informative x 3

Share This Page