TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

3G not working a few times until reboot after 6.2

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by bigdomer, Apr 7, 2015.

  1. bigdomer

    bigdomer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    167
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    Anyone else experiencing this? A few times since 6.2 I have had no maps or Slacker. Culprit appears to be 3G connection is lost. I don't receive any errors, but the 3G icon looks like the wifi icon and I check and am not connected to any wifi source. Reboot of 17" screen fixes it. I have reported to the Service Center, but thought I would check in with the rest of you.
     
  2. OrlandoKen

    OrlandoKen Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    How do you re-boot?
     
  3. spentan

    spentan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,254
    Location:
    SoCal
    Hold down the two scroll wheels for about 10 seconds.
     
  4. DonD

    DonD Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Clermont, FL
    I have been experiencing similar problems (no map - just blank gray grid on touchscreen, and Slacker plays but does not update on dash display) for the past month since my annual service. At that time the Service Center upgraded my firmware from 6.1.xxx to 6.1.yyy (sorry, don't recall exact versions). The car behaves this way EVERY MORNING, regardless of WiFi connection or number of 3G bars, until a reboot. After a reboot the maps (and Slacker display) usually function fine for the rest of the day. I have a service appointment scheduled for 4/22 to have this addressed.

    To reiterate - I'm experiencing this behavior on v6.1.xxx, have not yet received 6.2
     
  5. Duckjybe

    Duckjybe S P232

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    689
    Location:
    Oakville, Canada
    There was another thread about this. Us Canadians have been experiencing this since before 6.1 now. For some of us it is related to Energy Saving mode. With Energy saving ON I have had no problems lately with "Always connected" unchecked. I am now on 6.2 (2.4.136). I tried "Always connected" yesterday and 3G did not connect this morning so I set it back to unchecked.
     
  6. jfs1179

    jfs1179 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    San Jose
    I've also been experiencing this lately. I notice it happens more often in the morning after I leave the house and disconnect from WIFI. Sometimes if I wait long enough it appears to reconnect. Other times I reboot and it resolves itself. It is definitely less stable than before the release.
     
  7. bigdomer

    bigdomer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    167
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    Well, mine wasn't software. Bad modem. Ultimately failed completely. Of course Tesla service took care of it promptly. Great company.
     
  8. tinpandave

    tinpandave Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    OCALA FL
    Hi
    I just had it happen to me just like DonD said and I have 6.2 I just had to hold the 2 wheels in for about 10sec seem to have fix it . I think they have a bug zipping around in there dorking things up. the only thing I did different was in crease the charge for 80% to 85% for the trip to NAS JAX
     
  9. DFiveK2

    DFiveK2 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2015
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    I had this happen this morning. No 3g until I got to work and rebooted. I was afraid to reboot the screen while i was driving as I'm not sure if anything else gets affected during the process.

    FWIW, I don't have my home wifi connected yet, and this is after a quick hour charge from 630AM to 730AM. Always connected is checked. Energy Saving mode on.

    6.2.245
     

Share This Page