TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

60 vs 85... the same now?

Discussion in 'Model S: Battery & Charging' started by mspohr, Dec 25, 2014.

  1. mspohr

    mspohr Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,791
    Location:
    California
    Now that we have a 3 minute battery swap, a model 60 can be a model 85 (or the reverse).
    Does it make sense to have two different model designations when they can be changed so easily?
     
  2. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,753
    Location:
    Texas
    There is more to it than that. Firmware needs to be updated to reflect the different battery. It's far more than three minutes to update the firmware. I don't know if there is anything else that needs to be changed (such as different cable size from the battery to the inverter).
     
  3. NOLA_Mike

    NOLA_Mike Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,560
    Location:
    Hammond, LA
    I don't think Tesla has indicated they'd be willing to swap a 60 kWh battery with an 85 kWh battery.
     
  4. Comso

    Comso Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    That's an interesting point, but I haven't heard any comments on their willingness to swap a 60 with an 85. That would be great if they would.

    I wonder if there is ever a case where a 85 would decide they wanted a 60 temporarily. Weight savings for an afternoon of autocross? :)
     
  5. Evbwcaer

    Evbwcaer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    470
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I really think they should make the swapping upward compatible. Being able to sell the Model 3 with a 40kwh battery and owners being able to swap to an 85 for a road trip makes the 3 much more price competitive without losing any long range functionality. It also means less need for swapping stations, which can't be cheap.

    If you were going from a 60 to an 85, could software just limit the peak power output of the 85 to mimic a 60 so you would not have any concerns about the car's ability to handle the extra peak power/watts?
     
  6. mspohr

    mspohr Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,791
    Location:
    California
    I doubt that the firmware is different... Or that there are any other hardware differences. Does anyone know of any?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Why not?
    Makes sense to get a bigger battery for a long trip.
     
  7. NOLA_Mike

    NOLA_Mike Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,560
    Location:
    Hammond, LA
    I don't know why not. What I do know is that Tesla has not been very cooperative to date in allowing owners who wish to upgrade their MS 60 to a MS 85.
     
  8. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,753
    Location:
    Texas
    In the one case where Tesla did an upgrade from 60 to 85 (posted somewhere on TMC), the Service Centre had to change the firmware (or at least the settings) to account for the battery difference. It wasn't stated whether any parts were required.
     
  9. woof

    woof Model S #P683 Blue 85 kWh

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,149
    Way back when the Model S was press release vaporware, there was talk of "renting" a larger battery for road trips:

    Tesla Model S Sedan Concept: $49,900 Seven-Seater Electric To Hit Streets In 2011

    Yeah, I know, consider the source. But Jalopnik was only echoing what Tesla was saying at the time.
     
  10. AmpedRealtor

    AmpedRealtor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    4,698
    Location:
    Buckeye, AZ
    Newsflash... there is no 3 minute battery swap. Tesla is beta testing one tiny swap station at Harris Ranch. I think you are reading far too much into a beta test that excludes 99% of Model S owners. And if swap ever becomes a real product for the rest of us, you will always have to retrieve your original battery. Not everyone needs to swap, and most won't want to swap because it's inconvenient and costs money. Buy the battery capacity you need, you'll be glad that you did.
     
  11. ecarfan

    ecarfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    10,339
    Location:
    San Mateo, CA
    As AmpedRealtor said, at this point all Tesla has announced is one BETA swap station to be run as a test case to gauge demand. You are getting way ahead of reality.

    Also, Tesla has never said that 60 owners will be able to swap an 85 battery into their car. For reason stated by others in this thread it is unlikely, and we also know that more than one 60 owner has said Tesla declined to "upgrade" their car with an 85 battery after sale and delivery to the owner.
     
  12. DonD

    DonD Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Clermont, FL
    Firmware (or at least the way it interacts with the battery pack hardware) is most definitely different. As delivered, my original firmware displayed the same center instrument panel as seen on cars with 85KWh pack (i.e. the highest battery drain number was 320 KW). After one of the firmware updates the scale for 60KWh models was reduced to 240 KW.
     
  13. techmaven

    techmaven Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,562
    I would expect that the 60 versus 80 kWh pack is a setting within the same firmware, much like Supercharging. If it isn't, it probably could be depending on just how busy Tesla's software elves are these days.
     
  14. golfski

    golfski Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    Seattle, WA

    To me this sounds like the firmware is in-fact the same, but at some point it got smarter to be able to adjust the displays to allow for differences of batteries - but is probably the same core firmware with some variables.
     

Share This Page