Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

75? 100? 75? 100? ARGHHH!

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I had planned on waiting on a 3, but after having an X for a couple days last week I reallllllllllly want one.

I'm debating between the 75D or the 100D (maybe a 90 before they are gone). I'm no Tesla expert, but other than price, are the only real differences between the 75 and the 90/100 the range and acceleration?

I work in DC and live just outside in VA, so I'd mainly be doing city driving with some short highway spurts. My apartment building has 2 chargepoint stations in the garage and we should have another 3-4 superchargers around the DC area by next year.

I know people say to just go with what you can afford, but I was just curious if I was missing any other big differences.

The 100D will be able to Supercharge faster than the 75D (up to 120 kW versus nearly up to 100 kW) and the top speed is a bit higher, but it's not that big of a difference in real world usage. If you get the 75D, you could use the $17k savings towards a Model 3!

We struggled with the same decision and from what I could tell range, acceleration, and weight were the only differences. We "value engineered" our X by dropping a few options and going with a 100 versus a well optioned 75. We decided against the 90 because its total capacity was ~85.8 kWh versus the ~102.4 kWh of the 100. Our other car and first EV is an e-Golf that we plug in daily and requires us to consider its range whenever our plans change. We decided on the 100 so that we could plug it in slightly less often (we tend to charge our EVs as needed versus topping it up everyday), experience less range anxiety, and have faster acceleration.

• Informative
Reactions: Peteybabes