Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

75d vs 70d: more speed or more charge?

What do you think: speed, charge, or either

• Total voters
This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Have a 70D on order. Opted against the 75D for now. I'm not an engineer, but it seems that either the total battery in the 70d is used, but it's limited by software or a portion goes unused and is just conditioned. It seems to me then that:

1. 75D should have more power (opening up the full strength of the battery increases power)
2. It should be possible to charge the 70D nearer to 100% without degrading the battery pack (whole battery is available, but not used even at full charge).

I've seen this discussed, but without conclusion.

Thoughts?

Taz

Hey Tazman! Here are a few thoughts.
It depends how much you value that range difference. I drive an s70 (non-D), and am not sure the extra 5kWh would have ever made a difference for me. But higher voltage batteries (85-90kWh) that charge a bit faster and provide significantly more range? Yes, probably a good handful of times. And those would be faster, and I care about that more than range. But I could not bring myself to spend that much more.
In your case, I would think twice before spending $3k on that range upgrade. Depends what else you had in mind.