TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

8.0 Firmware (2.40.21) Just Downgraded To 7.1 (2.36.31)

Discussion in 'Model S' started by MarkS22, Oct 7, 2016.

  1. MarkS22

    MarkS22 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Morris County, NJ
    So, today, the car was in the Service Center. While there, they upgraded it to 8.0 (2.40.21) from 8.0 (2.36.108). Earlier tonight, I got a notification that an upgrade was available. So, I set it to upgrade...

    ...and now it's on 7.1 (2.36.31)!

    Has anyone heard of anything like this happening? I mean, I was already on 8.0 since September 26th. Then the SC upgraded me... only to drop back and lose 8.0 the night it returned home?

    So strange.
     
    • Informative x 3
  2. S4WRXTTCS

    S4WRXTTCS Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Snohomish, WA
    Oops.

    Did you ever have 2.36.31 on it?
     
  3. MarkS22

    MarkS22 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Morris County, NJ
    Yup. It was installed on September 18th, before it went to 8.0 on September 26th.
     
  4. JenniferQ

    JenniferQ Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    974
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Need a weird button so I can follow this, but since there is none I am commenting this weird sentence.
     
    • Funny x 6
    • Like x 3
  5. SD Diver

    SD Diver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    San Diego
    I wish that 2.36.31 would be pushed to mine. Not loving 8.0 on my pre-AP P85+...
     
    • Like x 6
  6. tomas

    tomas Traded in 9 rep bars for M3, used to be somebody!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,111
    Location:
    Chicago/Montecito
    Where do I sign up? Give me my old USB media player back. I'll reupgrade to 8.X when they fix it.
     
    • Like x 5
  7. TexasEV

    TexasEV Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,790
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Yeah, please tell us how you did that. Not liking the new flat UI, taking away the supercharger list, map zooming in or out by itself when the developer thought it should, hiding the top icons and status bar, hiding the map zoom buttons, I could go on and on.
     
    • Like x 2
    • Funny x 1
  8. 335eye

    335eye Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    United States
    Sounds like the sc set an old trigger on the car to call for 7.1. The software I work with daily has triggers that so this, and sometimes we manually set client's triggers back to old settings to have the software auto-call for an upgrade. If my theory is correct you were set way back to 7.0 maybe by accident? I could be wrong but it smells like human error.
     
  9. GridSpace

    GridSpace Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2016
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Virginia
    Just visited the SC this morning to get a headlight changed. On the way out, I noticed I have a new SW update pending. Since I recently upgraded to 8.0, this is unexpected.
     
  10. MP3Mike

    MP3Mike Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,659
    Location:
    Oregon
    Why not just use the "Watch" link that is at the top of the page to subscribe to it?
     
    • Informative x 1
  11. TexasEV

    TexasEV Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,790
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Not unexpected, if this version is like all the previous ones, you're going to get multiple builds of 8.0 as bugs are fixed.
     
  12. apacheguy

    apacheguy Sig 255, VIN 320

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,728
    Location:
    So Cal
    How interesting. Only time I've heard it happening was when they erred in releasing a beta version to non EAP.
     
  13. WannabeOwner

    WannabeOwner Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2015
    Messages:
    731
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    TeslaFi is showing version 2.36.108 (a USA-only version, so far) as the bulk of Version 8.0 rollouts, but just in the last day or so 2.40.21 has appeared (and is getting rollouts to both USA and also Europe etc and the Counts for both 2.36.108 and 2.36.31 have gone down), so my guess is that you will be getting the 2.40.21 "bugfix" upgrade from 2.36.108
     
  14. GridSpace

    GridSpace Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2016
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Virginia
    updating now. *crosses fingers*
     
  15. GridSpace

    GridSpace Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2016
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Virginia
    Pokemon hatched and it's 2.40.21
     
    • Like x 2
    • Funny x 1
  16. bob_p

    bob_p Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    939
    While rolling back to any arbitrary previous release would be impossible for Tesla to test and verify, they should add the ability for owners to roll back to the last stable major release, so that if a new release has major problems (which seems to happen each time they introduce a new major release), owners would have the option to continue using the current release - or could roll back to the previously "stable" release and wait until the new release has been fixed before trying the update again.

    The other change that should be implement is release notes displayed BEFORE the update is installed, so owners could decide if they want to install the update. Seems pretty crazy that you have to install the software updates before we know what's in it...
     
    • Like x 4
    • Love x 1
  17. aesculus

    aesculus Still Trying to Figure this All Out

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,977
    Location:
    Northern California
    Yeah, but that's why we have TMC.;)
     
  18. bmah

    bmah Obscure Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    742
    Location:
    Lafayette, CA
    #18 bmah, Oct 10, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2016
    I could see that introducing a bit of added complexity...what if the new code introduced made some additions or changes to the representation of say state data or settings that were not compatible with the old code? (I do not have any inside knowledge about whether this is true or not for the Tesla software, but this issue has arisen on other commercial software projects I've worked on. Sometimes there are upgrade boundaries across which you can't roll back.) So definitely desirable from a user standpoint, but potentially hard to build.

    Big +1 on this one, unfortunately this has been requested for years and it hasn't happened yet. I can't think of a good technological reason why this can't happen, so I'm assuming it's some "Layer 8" issue. As someone else posted, that's what TMC is for, so you can see what happens when people who are either braver or more foolish than you try out that next version. :)

    Bruce.

    Edit: "Layer 8" might require a bit of explanation. It's a bit of a networking joke, and a reference to to the OSI 7-layer model of networking. It refers to some non-technical reason for doing something, such as marketing or political reasons.
     
  19. apacheguy

    apacheguy Sig 255, VIN 320

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,728
    Location:
    So Cal
    Agree. It should show the pending update version as well as a change log. Every other software that I interact with works this way.
     
  20. MarkS22

    MarkS22 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Morris County, NJ
    #20 MarkS22, Oct 10, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2016
    Update: I contacted Tesla and they confirmed an "issue with our firmware server." They immediately pushed the latest firmware.

    However, after installing it, there was an error message stating "Trifocal camera error. Contact Tesla Service." On the center screen, there was another message noting "MCU Communication Error: Radar 2, Radar 3, Radar 4. Contact Tesla Service." When I attempted to put the car into drive, it gave the standard error beep and the instrument cluster said "Unable to initialize DrivePX2."

    Okay, no, ignore that last paragraph: they just put 2.40.21 back on my vehicle. It appears to have just been a glitch at the service center.
     
    • Funny x 7

Share This Page