Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

90d.... late November 2016 build

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hello everyone,

I am new to the Tesla forum family. Please don't hang me out to dry if this topic has already been discussed as I cannot seem to find a search option and the forum. I have a 2016 facelift model S that was manufactured on November 26 of 2016.I have concerns over the range of the car. Right now I have 55000 miles and at a 95% charge it saying I am only rated to 256 miles. I know when new the car should have been rated somewhere just over 300 miles range. So my question is should I be concerned about the life of my battery and/or is it failing?

So, here's my take on this. Change your display from range to % and stop worrying about it.

The actual range of my car varies on a day-to-day basis - what's the temperature? Humidity (air density)? Wind direction and speed? Road surface conditions? Tire pressure and wear? You get the idea - there are a lot of factors that affect range. There are days that a 90% charge will get me 150km, like last week in -40* temperatures. There are days when I'd get 440km+, heading downhill with a tailwind. Which of those is my car's range?

Personally I only show percentage, and then I look at how far I drove on the last 10% of my battery and extrapolate that for what my range that day will be. So if I'm in cold weather, stop-and-go traffic, with the heat on and with a cold battery I know I'm not going to get very far compared to if I'm driving in the summer on a moderate day with no AC and no wind on the highway.