Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

A new, improved battery design from the guy who invented the Lion battery

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

ecarfan

Like many people who follow EVs and batteries I have a certain degree of skepticism whenever I read about a new battery design that claims to offer major advantages over existing in-production batteries. But when I read about this new battery design I took it more seriously than I usually do because of the name associated with the publication: Dr. John B. Goodenough, the inventor of the modern Lion battery. Yes, that is a real name, not a joke. See John B. Goodenough - Wikipedia

Here is the article abstract Alternative strategy for a safe rechargeable battery - Energy & Environmental Science (RSC Publishing)

And here is a summary https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2017/02/170228131144.htm

QUOTE: "Cost, safety, energy density, rates of charge and discharge and cycle life are critical for battery-driven cars to be more widely adopted. We believe our discovery solves many of the problems that are inherent in today's batteries," Goodenough said. The researchers demonstrated that their new battery cells have at least three times as much energy density as today's lithium-ion batteries. A battery cell's energy density gives an electric vehicle its driving range, so a higher energy density means that a car can drive more miles between charges. The UT Austin battery formulation also allows for a greater number of charging and discharging cycles, which equates to longer-lasting batteries, as well as a faster rate of recharge (minutes rather than hours).
------------------------------------------