Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

AC Stink - solved

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hey everyone, I know this topic has been beat to death, however I wanted to offer my thoughts based on first hand experiences.
Does your AC absolutely STINK?!

The problem is the filters themselves. I’m an engineer and have been dabbling and experimenting with various solutions. The fix doesn’t require any coil cleaner at all. Simply change the filters. I’ve got 10k on the clock and upgrading to higher quality filters is the solution. Tesla is aware of this and is slowly releasing different revisions to their OEM filters. I live in the US south with insane humidity and the stock filters began to stink after 2 mos.

I spent about 40 bucks on replacements and now 4 months in no sign of stink whatsoever. Don’t bother with coil cleaner, just get those OEM filters out ASAP. Amazon has several options (the ones I got are here but any higher quality one will do)

happy driving everyone!

I wonder when Tesla changed the filter composition? I'm in the DFW region, at 8 months of ownership, 13k miles, run the AC constantly, and still don't have any odor at all.
Hmm...

I'm wondering, though, about the air flow using the HEPA filter. A true HEPA filter is rather dense. It will also fill up/clog much faster than the OEM filter, right?

I wonder when Tesla changed the filter composition? I'm in the DFW region, at 8 months of ownership, 13k miles, run the AC constantly, and still don't have any odor at all.
Hmm...

I'm wondering, though, about the air flow using the HEPA filter. A true HEPA filter is rather dense. It will also fill up/clog much faster than the OEM filter, right?
I think the “HEPA” (in the case of the filter I got) is simply marketing. Tbh I don’t care if it is or isn’t true HEPA - I just don’t want it to stink. So from my perspective they are a success.

Hmm...