TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Actual Tire Pressure numbers?

Discussion in 'Model S: Driving Dynamics' started by russman, Mar 28, 2014.

  1. russman

    russman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    California
    My 8 year old Acura shows actual tire pressure for each tire, but I don't see anything like that for the Model S. Is that something coming? It's a good way to see if there's a slow leak in a tire. I ask this because I've already had the TPMS replaced in my week old car, so made me wonder more about my awareness of the tire pressures.
     
  2. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,568
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    I've heard it's there, but just not exposed to the user. I agree it is glaring in its absence. My last car would display each tire's actual pressure in real time.
     
  3. dsm363

    dsm363 Roadster + Sig Model S

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    18,235
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    The Roadster displayed this. Still don't understand why they hide it in Model S.
     
  4. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,762
    Location:
    Texas
    I would have thought they would have added it by now.
     
  5. ecarfan

    ecarfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    10,375
    Location:
    San Mateo, CA
    I recall seeing a post several months ago stating that the S had a hardware limitation -- only one receiver for all four TPMS transmitters instead of four receivers -- that prevented it from showing four individual tire pressure values. Do not know if that is correct, however.

    My Porsche shows all four tire pressure values simultaneously in real time which I appreciate.
     
  6. dsm363

    dsm363 Roadster + Sig Model S

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    18,235
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    I was told that as well be was also told it was a software issue according to one of the Rangers at least. Hopefully, if accurate, this means it is just a software update away.
     
  7. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,852
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    True, but annoyingly the screen isn't available unless you put the car in Park. It does however stay up if you start driving again. I don't know why Tesla likes hiding tire pressures!

    If there's some limitation that it can't tell you which tire is which... show it anyway. My old Nissan did that. It had no idea which pressure was for which tire, but it showed all four numbers so at least you would know if one was lower than the others.
     
  8. FlasherZ

    FlasherZ Sig Model S + Sig Model X + Model 3 Resv

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7,019
    Tesla's TPMS module knows which sensor serial number corresponds with which wheel, you can see it on the programming tool. Other things are unknown, though -- we don't know if the TPMS module can send pressure information to the MCU, or if it just sends an alert for a low tire. If it is just alerts, we don't know if it can send which tire is there.

    Then, if you rotate tires, it changes which sensor is where. The auto-learning mechanism only knows how to learn which 4 sensors are on the car, not necessarily which tire is which (my Chevy requires you to change pressure of each tire in sequence to tell the computer which wheel is which). All you can do is send feedback to [email protected].
     
  9. Burt Court

    Burt Court Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Southern California
    A car that I owned a while back, possibly a LS460, showed all FIVE tirepressures... ?
     

Share This Page