Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Already disappointed with Tesla

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hello guys,

This is my first time ordering a Tesla. I ordered a fully loaded model 3 performance a couple of days ago, and somehow they managed to have one possibly delivered over this weekend. I figured it had to do with the ongoing coronavirus, and someone must have cancelled the delivery. I felt lucky to get a new model 3 so quickly.

When I applied for leasing, I was approved but was told that down payment would be around 13k instead of around 2-3k which I requested initially. To me, putting down 13k on a leased vehicle that's worth 66k is ridiculous. So I called the advisor and asked if he could relay the message to their leasing department to lower the down payment. All I heard from the guy was to check with him tomorrow morning. I heard that Tesla sales advisors are not so friendly, but for me to hear that in person when I was trying to buy my first Tesla was very upsetting.

I have a good credit score, and I am not sure why they would want me to put down so much when I am not financing for this vehicle. Is this common with Tesla? I am a BMW fanboy originally, and I have an offer from my auto broker for M5 competition with around 5k down payment with less than 1k a month. I was really getting into Tesla, but even before I buy the car I am already a bit disappointed with the way they handle their customers. My delivery date is going to be either on this Friday or Saturday, and I am trying to get as much help as possible. Please let me know what you think. Maybe I should suck it up and pay the price to join the Tesla community. Thank you.

Hello guys,