TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Always Connected Missing on Model 3?

Discussion in 'Model 3' started by tanner, Mar 31, 2018.

  1. tanner

    tanner Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,111
    Location:
    SoCal
    I just switched from the S to the 3, and I absolutely LOVE IT! However, I noticed that “Always Connected” seems to be missing and the app has to wake the car up to interface with it. I’ve gone through every menu about 20 times in search of both that feature (available in energy saving settings on S/X) and the ability to connect to Wi-Fi. I’ve been told Wi-Fi is missing, but may be added in a software update... but always connected seems critical to the Model 3 considering the phone is viewed as the primary key/“key fob”.
     
  2. araxara

    araxara S-P85#3,218 X-90D#3,299

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    883
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Always connected is for connection to the Tesla servers via the Internet. The phone as key uses Bluetooth LE which doesn’t use the network connection.
     
  3. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    6,242
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    I would think those settings would be added when they add wifi since you would want to enable (or not) the same energy savings (for use with TeslaFi and others).

    Seems like a bit more to go for full software parity (not AP, software :D).
     
    • Like x 2
  4. tanner

    tanner Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,111
    Location:
    SoCal
    True... but let's say you wanna pop the funk/trunk or do anything other than unlock/drive away, the car has to "wake up" first. I liked the instant access of the app and its features found with the Model S due to that always connected mode.
     
  5. tanner

    tanner Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,111
    Location:
    SoCal
    Good point! here's hoping! I already love my car to death (more than I ever did my S) and I can't wait for her to get better!
     
    • Like x 1
  6. run-the-joules

    run-the-joules Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    Messages:
    2,511
    Location:
    SF Bay
    This is one of the reasons the frunk is useless for day to day usage on the 3, sadly. It's where I throw things I hopefully never need because it's too annoying to deal with the wake up times to open.
     
  7. Sweni

    Sweni Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Lehigh Valley, PA
    Pretty sure the trunk and frunk can be popped while it still says connecting. I believe they use Bluetooth to allow for instant access. You can see they are white while other options are grey while it says connecting, and in my tests they open, even while the app still isn’t connected.
     
    • Informative x 2
    • Like x 2
    • Helpful x 1
  8. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    6,242
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    I do think this is spot on. Allen of Remote S fame said something like this when saying how he was going to program the confirmation for his app. If it was using the servers, he was going to add a confirmation (option) for the trunk/frunk because it may mean you are so far away you can't see the car. If it was using BT, you were within line of sight and didn't need a confirmation.
     
  9. dhrivnak

    dhrivnak Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,785
    Location:
    NE Tennessee
    Not me I want to minimize vampire drain. So when possible I wan my car in a deep sleep. So if they add it make it optional.
     
    • Like x 1
  10. run-the-joules

    run-the-joules Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    Messages:
    2,511
    Location:
    SF Bay
    You're technically correct but in practice it often doesn't respond, in my experience. Especially from the lockscreen widget.
     
    • Like x 1
  11. Sweni

    Sweni Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Lehigh Valley, PA
    I haven’t tried the widget yet, only the app. Will have to test that out as well.
     
  12. tanner

    tanner Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,111
    Location:
    SoCal
    I noticed this as well.
     
  13. privater

    privater 2016 Model S and 2017 Model 3 owner

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    CA

    1. It used to be ‘always on’, but for me and some users, 2018.10.5 firmware changed it to power-saving with always-on disabled. which saves a lot of energy on vampire drain. see this discussion:

    Model 3 crazy vampire drain

    2. Model 3's app is different than Model S/X, because it's using Bluetooth 4.0 BLE, so it's a hybrid connection with both Bluetooth and Internet, TL;DR: you don't need car to wake up to open your frunk or doors, just pop your app and click the button if it's within bluetooth range.

    https://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/threads/psa-you-dont-need-internet-to-open-frunk-door-with-phone-app.111621/\

    3. I wish Tesla provide a button to leave `always-on` feature to users, like they did with Model S/X.
     
    • Informative x 1
    • Like x 1
  14. tanner

    tanner Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,111
    Location:
    SoCal
    Interesting! Thanks for the info. Regarding point 2: does it work with the trunk too? For some reason, my car still doesn't appear in may Tesla app... It worked for a few hours and disappeared cause they're "finalizing the paperwork" (still).
     
  15. privater

    privater 2016 Model S and 2017 Model 3 owner

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    CA
    I only see 'Open Frunk' and 'Open door' is enabled when car is in Bluetooth range, and even 'Open Frunk' is added about 2 weeks ago to app, they might add `Open Trunk` in future. At least you can always using the button beneath trunk handle to open it, but frunk is easier to open on app than using touchscreen if you're approaching the car.
     
    • Like x 1
    • Love x 1
  16. Sweni

    Sweni Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Lehigh Valley, PA
    If you go under controls you will see all 3, since trunk isn't on the first page of the app. and you can do it under there in bluetooth range.
     
    • Like x 1
  17. tanner

    tanner Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,111
    Location:
    SoCal
    Nice! Thank you for confirming.... Mine STILL isn't available in the app :(
     
  18. Jason Bourne

    Jason Bourne Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Philly
    It may also depend on whether you're using Android or iOS.
     
  19. tanner

    tanner Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,111
    Location:
    SoCal
    Which do you use? iOS?
     
  20. Sweni

    Sweni Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Lehigh Valley, PA
    I have iOS
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC