TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Android App Weirdness

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by dave, Jan 17, 2014.

  1. dave

    dave Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    451
    Location:
    Greater Cincinnati
    I am experiencing the following issues with the Android app on my Samsung Galaxy S4:

    - Charge Limit Slider has completely disappeared

    This started happening after the 5.8.4 update. When I rebooted the car, it magically reappeared in the app. However it has since disappeared again, and now I cannot get it back despite rebooting the car (both screens), the phone, and completely removing and reinstalling the app (deleting the cache prior).

    The behavior occurs regardless of what network I am on - home wireless, 4G, or other network.

    The slider DOES work on my wife's iPhone and iPad running on our same home wireless network.


    - Second issue is lag while refreshing screens, especially with the GPS tracking. I get a map/speed update roughly every 15 seconds while the car is in motion. It's not a huge deal, but I compared to my wife's iPhone and iPad and the app there refreshes every one to two seconds which is a much nicer experience.

    Anyone else seeing these issues on the Android app?

    I am kind of disappointed because I bought a BRAND NEW phone solely for this app because my old Galaxy Nexus had issues opening and closing the app (had to manually kill it each time).

    Thanks for your feedback in advance!

    - Dave
     
  2. rlang59

    rlang59 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    923
    Location:
    US
    As far as I know the Android app has never had the charge slider. They only updated the iPhone app to support that.
     
  3. dave

    dave Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    451
    Location:
    Greater Cincinnati
    Well I can confirm that it exists on the Android app, as I used it often before it disappeared...
     
  4. rlang59

    rlang59 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    923
    Location:
    US
    I've been using the android app since May and have never seen the slider.
     
  5. wts13

    wts13 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Southern California
    Also never seen the slider, been using since May.

    The Android app could use some attention, though.
     
  6. dave

    dave Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    451
    Location:
    Greater Cincinnati
    Well now you have me thinking I've gone crazy... I swear it was there.

    What about the refresh delay? Do you guys see that?
     
  7. rlang59

    rlang59 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    923
    Location:
    US
    Yes I have always had those delays with the app. Tesla has pretty much put little to no effort into the Android app.
     
  8. Chipper

    Chipper Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,182
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    I have never had the slider in the Android app. Just a choice for Standard or Max Range.
     
  9. bob_p

    bob_p Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    939
    The iPhone app has had the slider for a while - how much longer until Tesla distributes an updated Android app with the slider?
     
  10. doggshine

    doggshine Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    California
    I would love an updated android app.
     
  11. Seattle

    Seattle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    On android I've never seen the slider. I believe you didn't notice that the android app didn't have the slider before.
     
  12. Kraken

    Kraken Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    799
    Location:
    Voltageville, CA
    There was no slider in android or apple apps until they updated the apple one. Now the android hasn't been updated yet, so, still no slider.

    android has always been slower. At first it needed force closing between each use! Either a new phone, or something has made it better.
     
  13. mckemie

    mckemie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Dale, Texas
    I've never seen a slider on Android; I have the Tesla app on three Androids. My current version of the Tesla app is 1.0.30. I'm sure looking forward to Tesla giving more attention to the app; I find it VERY clunky and un-reliable. I also look forward to a browser interface to the car. The first Leafs sold had browser access.
     
  14. dave

    dave Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    451
    Location:
    Greater Cincinnati
    Coulda sworn I saw it on my Android... I must have gotten it mixed up with my wife's iPhone. Didn't we get an update around the same time as the iPhone?
     
  15. aviators99

    aviators99 Model S - R140

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,453
    Location:
    Weston, Florida, United States
    No.
     
  16. Btrflyl8e

    Btrflyl8e Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    2,283
    Location:
    Seminole, Florida, United States
    Been using since May, never had a slider. I've not had many issues until lately, sometimes after it connects to the car and displays status I get a random "Can't connect, retry?" message. It reconnects, but I get that message repeatedly. That's the only issue with the Android app I've had.
     
  17. jyc

    jyc Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    San Diego, CA, United States
    Android app definitely never had a highly adjustable charge slider. Just a "Standard" and "Max range" selection. Have been jealous of my wife's iOS version that does have the slider since some time in November. Also that version doesn't seem to have the annoying bug where you have to open the app twice to get it to connect (even before any firmware with a working sleep mode). This happens on my phone as well as my Nexus tablets, so it's not specific to any specific device I use.

    While I'd love to see any attention paid to the android app, if it takes resources away from adding/fixing features in the actual car firmware, I'll stick with the current android app. If you're near anything that can run Java apps, Visible Tesla (on these forums) works quite well!
     

Share This Page