TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Annoyed with the Tesla app..."Turn On" climate requires two attempts

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by rpo, Nov 16, 2015.

  1. rpo

    rpo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Washington
    Why does the climate control require me to turn on the climate twice before it actually does anything? It has been like that since I got my car 14 months ago. At first I figured it was just a temporary glitch with the android app, but it is continuing despite many app updates.

    This is how it goes: If the app does not show the inside temp on the climate tab when I first open it, then I hit "Turn On", wait 5-10 seconds until the button changes back to "Turn On" (hence it has failed) at which point the app suddenly will show the interior temperature. Then I hit "Turn On" a second time and it instantly turns on. If the app shows the inside temp when I first open it, then I only have to hit "Turn On" once.

    Is this happening to anyone else?
     
  2. tel

    tel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Burlingame, CA
    I can confirm this happens to me, as well. Minor annoyance. I've just been putting up with it.
     
  3. Footbag

    Footbag Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Edmonton, Canada
    Yep, I imagine it happens to most/all of us Android users. I believe the iOS app works a bit better/more consistently than android. As much as I'd like the android version to get even better, when I see people use the Leaf app, and see how SLOW it is to do anything, I'm quite happy our apps are as good as they are. Not perfect, but better than at least some of the competition.
     
  4. Vip

    Vip Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Messages:
    294
    Location:
    United States
    Actually with me I will turn it on and it will show the climate arrows in the car indicating it is on but then it would turn off about 5-10 seconds later and this may repeat 2 or 3 times before it stays on.
     
  5. Discoducky

    Discoducky Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,884
    Location:
    Seattle
    Hmm, I just press the up arrow and it turns on, while turning the temp up a degree, it only requires a single press and is much less annoying
     
    • Informative x 1
  6. Max*

    Max* Autopilot != Autonomous

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4,873
    Location:
    NoVa
    Only when the interior temp is displayed. I do the same and literally just tried it and my interior temp was not displayed, it followed the OP's behavior with me having to click the up button wait nothing happens it turns grey, click the down button and tada it turns on
     
  7. Coiled

    Coiled Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Let me brighten up your Monday with some good news.

    It's actually just a lag in communication between the phone and the car. Try this:

    1. Turn on climate control from the app
    2. Wait a few seconds for the button to turn back to "Turn On." This means climate control is off, right? Wrong!
    3. Wait another 30-60 seconds without touching anything. The button turns back to "Turn Off" and the interior temperature shows up.

    This works for me every time. I'm pretty sure climate control is on the whole time. Probably the "turn on" message is being sent to the car at the same time (or just after) the car sends the message "climate control is off," so the app doesn't get confirmation that it's on until the next message from the car.

    It's just a little lag. Not perfect, but a very minor annoyance. Once you realize that, you really can just set it and forget it.
     
    • Informative x 1
  8. ArtInCT

    ArtInCT Always Learning

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,607
    Location:
    Southern Connecticut
    Could it be that your S is "asleep" when you issue the first command? It then "awakes" so that the second command issuance is successful? I noticed in the Project Cartesia thread the author mentioned that internal temperature was sometimes not available as the S was "asleep" and he was reluctant to issue a call to awake the car...
     
  9. rpo

    rpo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Washington
    Every time I hit it once when it is not showing the interior temp and don't go back into the app to hit it a 2nd time results in a cold car.
     
  10. AmpedRealtor

    AmpedRealtor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    4,705
    Location:
    Buckeye, AZ
    Same here. The app has always behaved in this manner for me. I agree that it's just a delay in communication. If you wait long enough, the climate control will show on.
     
  11. Coiled

    Coiled Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    I'm curious what would happen if you followed the exact steps I mentioned.
     
  12. BobV

    BobV Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    Charlottesville, VA
    I've gotten into the habit of explicitly killing the Tesla Android app once I've finished using it. It seems to have a bit of trouble re-connecting to the backends if it's been opened but left in the background for any extended period of time. I never try to actually demo the app to people interested in the car since it's downright flaky and the demo gods are generally unkind.
     
    • Like x 1
  13. Khatsalano

    Khatsalano Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Messages:
    648
    Location:
    San Mateo, CA
    Yes, this bs with the climate control happens every time on both my iPhone and my Android phone. In fact, on the Android phone, I have to restart the app 3 times in quick succession to get it to connect to the car (or you can just wait for it to time out the first launch). I've just gotten used to this by now, but it really looks amateurish and not of Tesla grade.

    - K
     
  14. S4WRXTTCS

    S4WRXTTCS Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,178
    Location:
    Snohomish, WA
    On the IOS app I find the climate related app controls a bit annoying for the following reason

    1.) It doesn't always show the temp of inside the car. I don't understand this behavior because it knows everything else about car. So why not the temp? Is the temp sensing only turned on when the climate control is turned on. If that's the case why does it sometimes show it when the climate control is off.

    2.) The delay between turning it on versus it actually turning on. A bit annoying, but it's not horrible.

    3.) No ability to turn on rear/front defroster, and no ability to turn on heated seats or heated steering wheel from the app.
     
  15. grichard

    grichard Member De-Luxe

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    I have been having the identical problem with my Android app. I just tried your steps, and I agree: it performs as you describe.

    I pressed "turn on". The display switched to "climate on". About 5 seconds later it switched back to "climate off". I kept waiting, and about 20 seconds later it switched back to "climate on" and the purple arrows and interior temp appeared.

    Still a bug, but a less-buggy one.
     
  16. supratachophobia

    supratachophobia Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,995
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    Android app has done this since day 1.
     
  17. green1

    green1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,116
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Mine does this frequently, but not every time, it's somewhat intermittent, which in some ways is worse because I never know if I'll need to hit it again or not...
     
  18. Cooksomerice

    Cooksomerice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I have a separate but related issue.

    Picks up my MS today!

    Awesome!

    Here is the issue though.

    I left the car at a SC went in target and upon returning, a notification is present across the face of my watt/mile gauge that says "Climate Off".

    The only thing I did while away from the car was log onto mytesla app and play around with the features.

    Once back in the car, I have manipulated every function trying to make the notification disappear.

    I've tried:
    Turned the climate on and off in the car.
    Turning the climate on and off on the app.
    It will not go away.
    The AC still turns on and off correctly, the notice is annoying because it covers my gauge.
    Any thoughts??
     
  19. supratachophobia

    supratachophobia Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,995
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    Screen reboot tried?
     
  20. Cooksomerice

    Cooksomerice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Before I could do it, I got home and first, recharged.
    Initiating the charge process seemed to do it.
     

Share This Page