Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Any electricians here?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

a1machinista1

MY5 5/24 wh/blk 19" tow-- MSLR 6/1 MSM/blk 19"
Apr 12, 2019
oregon
I'm not an electrician and I did not do this install myself. We paid for the install and I want to verify information. If we have two gen 3 wall connectors being fed from a single 60a breaker? Is it not true that both the connectors need to have their own 60a breaker at the point where they split from the main feed? We have had this electrician do multiple projects for us and I don't want to second guess his work. But considering we are talking over $2000 for chargers and $130k in cars, I am being a bigger pain in the ass.

That might be Kosher IF each wall connector is independently configured to provide a max of 24 amps, which would be stupid.

But generally no, that’s not how you do it and if they can each try to draw 48 amps you’ll obviously have a problem.

See the “power sharing” section of the install manual for the right way, which wants them each on their own circuit

I suppose it would work this way if the total site power was limited to 48 amps in the sharing config.

• Disagree
Reactions: cstork and aerodyne
That might be Kosher IF each wall connector is independently configured to provide a max of 24 amps, which would be stupid.

But generally no, that’s not how you do it and if they can each try to draw 48 amps you’ll obviously have a problem.

See the “power sharing” section of the install manual for the right way, which wants them each on their own circuit

I suppose it would work this way if the total site power was limited to 48 amps in the sharing config.
This was my concern. So this means that when I set up the load sharing I would have to set each connector to a max of 24a? If that is true? Then I lose the capability to charge one car at 48a? Correct?