TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Any update to the guts of the touchscreen?

Discussion in 'Model S' started by Aceturnedjoker, Sep 16, 2016.

  1. Aceturnedjoker

    Aceturnedjoker New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Raleigh
    Hello,
    Long time lurker, newbie poster here. I've been eying a MS for some time now, but felt that the guts behind the touchscreen were getting old and possibly be upgraded with new iterations of the MS and MX for that matter; but haven't heard anything about it. Does anyone know if A) there has been an update (hardware spec wise) and B) if there is any on going plan it do so? I know a couple of posters have shared that their experiences with the touchscreen have been upsetting due to UI placement and also speed.
     
  2. apacheguy

    apacheguy Sig 255, VIN 320

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,728
    Location:
    So Cal
    • Informative x 1
  3. supratachophobia

    supratachophobia Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,997
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    No, but I'd pay for a faster one.
     
  4. Lex

    Lex Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    658
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    As with every CPU based device I think it's reasonable to consider a 2-3 year window for upgrading the MCU... at least for power users. I've started budgeting :D

    Otherwise, the good news is the car continues being a car... with enough power to power the electric powered car, and even help drive it, and it even has a browser that can load the news, weather, and Waze incidents. And that's it ;)
     
  5. green1

    green1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,116
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    You can plan for 2-3, but the Model S has been out for 4, and they haven't made any change worth replacing it for... so it seems YOU might plan for 2-3, but Tesla is planning more than 4, how much more we don't know, but we know it's more than 4...
     
  6. privater

    privater 2016 Model S60 owner

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Ca
    Actually, if Tesla want, they can easily swap the CPU/GPU to most current one, The MCU and Dashboard are using NVIDIA VCM
    modules, MCU is using Tegra 3, and Dashboard is Tegra 2. They both can be upgraded separately in theory:
    Top left is the VCM module of Tegra 3:
    model s mb.jpeg


    And the standalone VCM module of Tegra 3:
    nvidia t3 close.jpeg
    This is Tegra 2 VCM:
    dashboard tegra.jpeg
     
    • Informative x 1
    • Like x 1
  7. CSFTN

    CSFTN Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    470
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I'm no EE ... are these pictures intended to show us that the CPUs (or GPUs) on a daughterboard or otherwise easily removable, and replaceable? And are the newest Tegras compatible with the -2 and -3?
     
  8. privater

    privater 2016 Model S60 owner

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Ca
    Yes, they share same module design(ports, slots) like a USB.

    From what I see on NVIDIA's website, K1 with VCM module is accessible since 2014. Which should gives 2x raw performance bump.
    A little bit surprised that Tesla didn't upgrade it even with Model X.

    Visual_Computing_Module__VCM__from_NVIDIA_Tegra___NVIDIA.jpg
     
  9. STbreaker

    STbreaker Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    218
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    Aside from the browser being slow (which may not be hardware limited), the current touchscreen/dash seem to be meeting the needs. There's not really much incentive for them to change it right now.

    Pure speculation, but maybe we'll see some changes after the Model 3 comes out and people like/dislike what happens with that interior.
     
  10. CHG-ON

    CHG-ON Still in love after all these miles

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    2,766
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains, USA
    IMO, it isn't the HW that's lacking with the screen. It's the SW. They can get a LOT more out of it if they would put more resources on it. I don't have any issues with performance aside from the browser, which it terrible. That's all SW.
     
  11. disillusioned

    disillusioned Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I respectfully disagree. There's a lot to be said for hardware acceleration of page renders/canvas drawing in the browser, and if they're not able to take advantage of that because of the hardware they're using, that would go a long way toward explaining the abysmal browser performance when the rest of the interface is at least passable. It's also true that the browser is old old old WebKit, and who knows if it's something they can just optimize, but it definitely has that "this is SW rendered and that's why it sucks" feel, and that might be something at the top end of the current system's capability.

    Please note that I would love to be wrong about this and it would be amazing if 8.0 optimized either software OR turned on HW rendering for the browser!
     

Share This Page