TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Any way to program Homelink without handheld remote?

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by derekt75, Dec 31, 2012.

  1. derekt75

    derekt75 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    My other cars haven't needed a handheld remote, and I didn't get one when I got the house.
    I tried using another car near the Tesla, but the Tesla keeps saying "Searching"

    Do I need to buy a handheld one just so I can program the Tesla?
     
  2. ggr

    ggr Roadster R80 537, SigS P85 29

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4,119
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Traditionally there are two kinds of remotes, ones with a fixed code, and newer ones with a rolling code. The instructions say to use the existing opener inside the car, so that the car unit can detect that it isn't, in fact, a fixed code. You can do this by just waiting it out, without pressing anything. Then you press the "learn" button on the actual opener, and tell the car to transmit, and it will transmit its own rolling code, which the opener will then figure out and remember. You should be fine.
     
  3. derekt75

    derekt75 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    How do I tell the car to transmit?

    I try to program "Left". It searches and fails to find anything after 5 minutes or so. It gives me the option of trying again. Trying again just repeats the loop. I can also cancel. If I cancel, then Left is labeled as "Not Programmed", and pushing the button doesn't seem to do anything.
     
  4. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    13,557
    Location:
    Texas
    I didn't need a handheld remote to program Homelink on other cars. I doubt it's required for the Model S either. However, it might be dependent upon the type of garage door opener you have. The thing to do is find the instructions (online) for your garage door opener, then use a combination of the two instructions to make the Homelink work.
     
  5. derekt75

    derekt75 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    The problem is that I can't figure out how to convince Model S to send out a signal. As far as I can tell, if it doesn't find a signal from a remote, it won't do anything since it's "not programmed". I have a wall mounted combination remote, and I tried driving the Model S so that the front bumper is near that. It wouldn't pick up the signal from the combination remote, and I haven't gotten it to pick up the signal from my wife's car.

    Incidentally, I have two garage doors I need to program. They're both run of the mill 10 year old LiftMasters.
     
  6. NEWDL

    NEWDL R#350 R#1323 Sig23 8136

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    474
    Location:
    NE OHIO
    I have always found the answer to this question to be no. Even if you borrow a neighbors opener to program it to your door,
    Program your s, then program it back to your neighbors door...

    But more concerning in my opinion is how did you manage to loose 2-4 garage door
    Openers?
     
    • Funny x 1
  7. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    13,557
    Location:
    Texas
    Is there a training button the garage door opener? Usually you need to press that and then press the Homelink button.
     
  8. derekt75

    derekt75 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    The guy I bought the house from wasn't the most organized.
    He still had his junk in the house days after closing and he wasn't paying me rent. Getting garage door openers from him was not a significant concern of mine.

    - - - Updated - - -

    yes, there is. but the Model S's homelink button doesn't seem to do anything when it's "not programmed".

    I guess I can go to Target and get a replacement remote. I suppose having a handheld remote isn't a terrible idea, anyway.
     
  9. William13

    William13 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    995
    Location:
    South Bend
    I did not realize that my door opener mounted on the wall was battery operated and mobile until earlier this year. Perhaps yours are also.

    This was also my concern, though because the old remotes died.
     
  10. FlasherZ

    FlasherZ Sig Model S + Sig Model X + Model 3 Resv

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7,023
    Unfortunately, without a transmitter there isn't much you can do. The car uses the transmitter to sense whether it's an old-style non-rolling-code transmitter, a 310 MHz transmitter, a 315 MHz transmitter, or a 390 MHz transmitter. Without these, the car would have to generate and transmit multiple signals all the time (because it's a one-way mechanism, and the car wouldn't know which of the various version of Security+ are in use by your opener). There could be an "advanced mode", I guess, that would allow you to configure it, but since most people have a remote anyway, it makes sense to detect it.
     
    • Helpful x 1
    • Like x 1
  11. derekt75

    derekt75 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    I'm just saying I've programmed two other cars' Homelink (Merc and Lexus) without a handheld remote so it can be done. I understand why Tesla would want to set things up to read the signal from an existing transmitter, but other car manufacturers have other solutions.

    Pulling the wall mounted remote off of the wall, and holding it in front of the bumper did work. Odd that on a wall 4' high, 4' away from the bumper failed, but in my hand, 2' high, 2' away from the bumper worked. Is the search really that sensitive to signal strength?

    Anyway, the car can open one door now, but not the other, as the wall mounted remote doesn't work with the other door, either. maybe it's the wrong frequency?
     
  12. FlasherZ

    FlasherZ Sig Model S + Sig Model X + Model 3 Resv

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7,023
    My experience with my non-rolling-code transmitter was rather horrible. Took 3-4 tries for my DS and I to do it right, and then when I had to re-program it (after the GPS issue was fixed), it took another 20 minutes for the ranger and I to do it. Also required a new battery in the transmitter.

    It's likely you have two different frequencies in your openers. They've changed over the years -- see the table here, about halfway down the page.

    In theory, Tesla should be able to do this by asking you to press the learn button on the opener, then sending messages on the three different frequencies, then ask you to hit the button until the door opens so it knows which frequency you're on. Alternatively, they could just choose to send 3 signals each time you push the button too - one on each frequency.

    Like other subsystems in the car, they may have a Homelink module from a third-party manufacturer, and they've just made it work for now based upon the traditional GM-style "hold the transmitter here" method.
     
  13. Nationgift

    Nationgift New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Houston
    I just purchased 2017 model s, its not programming to wayne dalton garage door. I have lost the remote. Please help to program it to homelink.
     
  14. jorobsand

    jorobsand Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    I had an issue with a different manufacturer on an older vehicle in which I didn't have the remote and it was an older model. I was able to go to a hardware store and pick up a new remote that had the ability to be programmed to a range of older and newer model openers. I was able to program the remote, then use the generic remote to program the car.

    Maybe that was all overkill but it worked for me. Was able to use the same generic remote to program my new Tesla.
     
  15. N4HHE

    N4HHE Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    669
    Location:
    Madison, AL
    Break down and purchase a replacement remote. Homelink needs to listen to a working remote so as to know what frequency and protocol to speak. Once it knows what type you can then tell your door opener to accept the car. Perhaps you can borrow a remote for a moment to teach your Homelink what protocol to speak? A neighbor perhaps? This will not grant you acces to their door. Only the learn button on their door motor can do that.

    Many do not understand that it is the door receiver which gets programmed to recognize the remote, and not the other way around.
     
  16. The Duke

    The Duke Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Messages:
    407
    And remember this is beta software.
    The car will not know if the door is open or closed so it may do the opposite of what you need.
    Wifey had the garage door open with boxes for Goodwill all around. I pulled up in Nicki and Nicki closed the garage door onto the boxes. Also if you have more than one car, or use the garage door with the remote or button, the car can get out of sync and need re-programming.
     
  17. Lloyd

    Lloyd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    5,680
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    What if you used one of your other cars, if they are programmed to fire the first signal for you to program the Tesla?
     
  18. jorobsand

    jorobsand Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Might work. But my experience programming the Homelink was that the Tesla needed quite a while to recognize the signal I was using while I continuously pressed the button on the remote. Not sure if another car would be able to continuously send a signal for the time required. Plus, I had to get pretty close to the Tesla to program it and depending on where the transmitter is on the other car, it might not be able to get close enough.
     
  19. silverwolfe08

    silverwolfe08 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2017
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Dayton, Ohio
    Success! I ran into the same issue as the OP. I just moved into a house in Florida and the previous owner was sketchy, didn't leave any remotes. Real estate agent wasn't able to get them.

    The garage door opener is on the older side, but the keypad is wireless. Initially I took the keypad off the wall and tried to use it to program the Tesla, but that failed. The problem (I think) was the keypad only sent a burst signal and it wasn't long enough for the Tesla to recognize. This was true even when I held down the enter button.

    What ended up working was reprogramming the keypad PIN. The instructions on the pad said to press the learn button on the garage, enter the new code on the keypad and HOLD DOWN the button on the keypad until the garage blinked. So I put the Tesla in learn mode, pressed the learn button on the garage, typed in my new pin on the keypad and HELD DOWN the enter button on the keypad while standing in front of the bumper. The garage recognized the new pin right away, but I continued to hold down the button and 5 to 10 seconds later it too registered the signal. Now I'm good to go!

    tl;dr If you garage has a wireless keypad, use the set new pin functionality to send a continuous signal to the Tesla from the keypad.
     
    • Informative x 1

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC