TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Anybody put altezza or clear tail lights?

Discussion in 'Model S: Interior & Exterior' started by HowardLynnSMith, May 25, 2015.

  1. HowardLynnSMith

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Smithtown
    I want to change my tail lights or simply just get rid of the ugly red on the outside. Does anybody know if the bulb behind the reflector shines red?
     
  2. HowardLynnSMith

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Smithtown
    I attached a few pics of what I am talking about. Any ideas? IMG_1094.jpg IMG_1095.jpg
     
  3. Dborn

    Dborn Confirmed

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,071
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Is it not a sealed LED based unit? Not sure about Europe, but the Australian version has red for stop lights and Amber turning signals. Perhaps you could swap them out for a set of these? All red not permitted in Australia design rules for automobiles. Ours look quite attractive.
     
  4. Gizmotoy

    Gizmotoy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    3,132
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    The European version does, but the wiring harnesses are different. Worse, since the charge ports are also different, even if you adapted the harnesses, it still wouldn't fit. Maybe Australian parts would work, I'm not familiar with those.
     
  5. Dborn

    Dborn Confirmed

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,071
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Far as I know, our cars and English/ Hong Kong are all much the same. Our charge port is Mennekes type 2 same as Europe. Main difference is that it will take 3 phase power. So 420 volt 32 amp gives us 20 odd kW. Much the same as USA with 80 amp. How the arithmetic works with 3 phase is a little different. Not sure how all that ties in with a different loom for tail lights though. I would have expected that part of the loom to be the same. 12 volt to run the light cluster?
     

Share This Page