TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Anyone else in Toronto/GTA lose 3G this afternoon?

Discussion in 'Canada' started by mibaro2, Jun 6, 2014.

  1. mibaro2

    mibaro2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    958
    Location:
    Georgetown, ON
    I am wondering if anyone else in the GTA-Mississauga-Georgetown area lost wifi connectivity with their Tesla this afternoon around 4 p.m.
    -I tried rebooting the iPad centre console twice, and it did not solve the problem.
    -I believe I lost connectivity around the 401/Mississauga Rd area.

    I'm wondering if it is only Tesla's, or a Roger's problem ( I believe Rodgers is the carrier for Tesla's in Ontario ).
     
  2. iKhalid

    iKhalid Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    630
    Location:
    Ajax, ON (for now)
    You mean 3G I assume. I'm in Ottawa and it happened a few days ago for a few minutes.

    It's AT&T and it connects to Rogers or Bell depending on the signal. I say Bell because Rogers signal in my area is very weak and I still see 3G connection.
     
  3. mibaro2

    mibaro2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    958
    Location:
    Georgetown, ON
    This was no wireless connectivity at all...no bars, (so no 3g). Slacker wouldn't work since it said it needed an internet connection.
    I drive this same route everyday, and never had a problem with a wireless connection until today. ( I'll lose 3G sometimes, but still have wireless).
     
  4. mibaro2

    mibaro2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    958
    Location:
    Georgetown, ON
    Went back out to the car now, and I have 3G like normal.
    Seems to have been a temporary glitch.
     
  5. iKhalid

    iKhalid Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    630
    Location:
    Ajax, ON (for now)
    Just so you know, i had the lost in connectivity for 15 minutes today.
     
  6. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,853
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    While on the topic... does anyone else find the 3G signal strength almost always sucks? I get about two bars less than my phone does.
     
  7. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,568
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Yep. And I also find I get fewer WiFi "bars" in my garage than my cell phone gets (on WiFi) in the same location as well.

    Speaking of 3G dropping out, I have found that over time, the 3G service just starts getting worse and worse until I'm finally fed up and re-boot the 17" screen. After a re-boot, which takes a long time to get the 3G service back up, it is a lot better.
     
  8. iKhalid

    iKhalid Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    630
    Location:
    Ajax, ON (for now)
    3 days ago, I lost 3G connection completely for 80% of the day.
    2 days ago, I lost 3G connection for 100% of the day.
    Yesterday, it was offline all the morning and a bit of afternoon. I called ownership and I was told that it will be redirected to Montreal SC and they will investigate the issue further.

    I'm not sure if they did anything, but I got 3G connection an hour after the call.
     
  9. mibaro2

    mibaro2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    958
    Location:
    Georgetown, ON
    Yes, I find that the wifi strength has gotten worse after the last update (I'm on 1.51.106).
    It wouldn't surprise me if the wifi strength was the root cause of the Slacker internet problems that have been reproted by others.
     
  10. PoweredByRain

    PoweredByRain Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    647
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    #10 PoweredByRain, Jun 9, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2014
    I have to laugh at this. When I first got the car it had no 3G about half of the time. Including just sitting in my driveway. Apparently that was just the level of service in Victoria. It's gotten a bit better since then.
     
  11. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,568
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Seriously, have you guys tried a re-boot? It works like a charm for me when my 3G starts to get "weak" after a month or two.
     
  12. iKhalid

    iKhalid Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    630
    Location:
    Ajax, ON (for now)
    Of course, both screens and many times.
     
  13. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,568
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Interesting. It always works for me, and I've had no 3G dropouts of any kind for over a month now. (of course, now that I've said that...)
     
  14. iKhalid

    iKhalid Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    630
    Location:
    Ajax, ON (for now)
    Tesla has been in touch with me since my call about the issue. Kathy from Montreal told me about an issue with the cellular company during the weekend and now it is resolved.
     
  15. mcfadyena

    mcfadyena Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    205
    Location:
    Campbellford, Ontario
    Not resolved.
    Still having issues - no connectivity at all. Reboots not working.

    Will call tomorrow.
     
  16. iKhalid

    iKhalid Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    630
    Location:
    Ajax, ON (for now)
    If it is down and never up, I would say a faulty modem.
     

Share This Page