TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Anyone else suffering with the mobile app?

Discussion in 'The UK and Ireland' started by smac, Jan 4, 2015.

  1. smac

    smac Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,121
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    This the second day in a row now.

    I try to switch on the heating (it was -3c here) and after multiple times of trying, and minutes of waiting on each attempt, the app pops up with: "Cannot connect to your vehicle" :(

    I give up and go to the car, and manually switch it on, but as soon as I get out it switches back off :( Hmmm.... this pre-heat was supposed to be one of the major benefits of an electric car.

    Previously at this point I would have used Trevor Stone's Chrome plugin. There's a big thread about this too, but it looks like Tesla have kyboshed (sp?) that... argh!!! :cursing:
     
  2. mgboyes

    mgboyes Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    811
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Yes I've definitely had a few occasions where the app will not connect, for no good reason. But it's pretty rare.

    If you want the car to stay "on" after you get out then you need to get in, press the brake to start it up, put it in N, and then manually engage the parking brake (there's an option in the menus somewhere).

    But this is exactly equivalent to leaving the engine running in an ICE - it won't lock when you walk away, it won't switch off, and anyone can get in and drive it off if they want to, without the key.
     
  3. TES-E

    TES-E Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    373
    Location:
    Casa Grande, AZ
    The only time that has happened to me is when the car had a very weak or non-existing 3g signal, and couldn't connect. Ironically, it was at the nearby supercharger. It may work differently in the UK.
     
  4. Zarwin

    Zarwin Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    407
    Location:
    Hillsborough, NC
    You can also just get out, then stick your foot back in and tap the brake. This will power the car up and it will stay that way for 30 minutes. You can also lock the car with the keyfob, walk away, and it stays powered on. I've done this a number of times.


    Edit: also to the original post, when its cold and I want to power on the heat without getting in the car or using the app, I just open one door and then partially close it (one click) and the climate control comes on and stays on for a little while. Not sure if it stays on 30 minutes, like fully powering on the car, but it stays on long enough to get some warmth in the cabin. This will prevent you from locking the car, however.
     
  5. smac

    smac Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,121
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Not locking the car isn't a problem I have a private "compound" away from the main road, so theft isn't an issue. In fact in weather like this we are used to leaving ICE's running to warm up.

    MGBoyes, out of interest, does Visual Tesla still work for you ? I Think TM have been moving EU people onto different servers, and there's some suggestion this might be to blame.

    I guess more frustrating is the car is on my home wifi which my phone is also connected to, and it still doesn't work. (I've also tried combo's of both phone on 3G/Wifi + the car on 3G/Wifi). So either app or Tesla servers.

    Ultimately, whilst I am being picky, the real problem is I shouldn't need to go out to my car! Previously my routine was get up, switch on the car (normally on browser but then reluctantly phone), get in the shower, get dressed and drive off in a pre-warmed car...

    The disruption to my routine leads me to think my neighbours will be placing a class action case against Tesla for "mental distress" caused by having to watch me walk around in my dressing gown :D
     
  6. gdavison

    gdavison Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Hampshire / Berkshire Border
    Android Mobile App is working great for me .. just checked it now again and it connects no problems .. we did have a worldwide outage about 3 weeks ago for a day, but since then I've not had any problems .. Is your car in good 3G coverage when parked ? Do you have a Wifi connection for it ??

    What do you set Controls > Displays > Energy Saving to ? I have mine set to Always Connected
     
  7. smac

    smac Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,121
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    It's been flaky since NYE.

    Car is connected to my Wifi, and also shows 2 bars of 3G. My energy saving settings are set to scheduled.

    I generally leave for the office at 8:00 - 8:30, so you'd hope it had switched on by then. Friday it didn't work, Saturday it didn't work, today at 11:45am it didn't work :(

    I might change the settings to "Always on" and see if it's more reliable. When I first got the car it was OK, then we had the vampire drain patch and it was flaky, then from v6.0 onwards using scheduled it has been fine until very recently.

    Weird!

    - - - Updated - - -

    Thinking about this....

    Does anyone know what the "schedule" is on the energy saving mode ? Is it trying to be clever and learn your patterns, because I noticed it going wrong after the holiday week of not using the car to my normal routine, and there isn't anywhere to set the schedule. hmmm...
     
  8. smac

    smac Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,121
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    I've just been out in the car, so took the opportunity and changed it to always on (it was set to "nightly" not "scheduled" it was months ago, sorry for any confusion).

    App seems to be behaving better now, might by co-inky-dink, but will give it a whirl and see how it compares tomorrow.
     
  9. TES-E

    TES-E Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    373
    Location:
    Casa Grande, AZ
    You didn't mention rebooting. That might be worth a try as well.
     
  10. caddieo

    caddieo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    877
    Location:
    Palm Coast, FL
    There was a period of about a week last December when I could not connect with the car. The "waking car up" circle just kept spinning and transitioning to the "cannot connect" message. I reloaded the app and that did not help. Finally I decided to reboot the main screen. It has been working fine since then.
     
  11. mgboyes

    mgboyes Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    811
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    VisibleTesla seems to be fine for me.

    The incompatibility could be related to software version - there are two quite different versions of v6 around at the moment - 1.67.xx (the old track for the non-D cars) and 2.0.xx (the new track with stuff for D cars and autopilot).

    Even those of us with non-D non-autopilot cars will eventually get upgraded to the 2.0.xx variant, which might have changed the API and therefore have impacted Visible Tesla.

    I'm still on 1.67.23.

    Definitely worth rebooting the centre console if you haven't tried it already.

    I believe the "nightly" option for sleeping means something fixed like 22:00 - 06:00. I have mine set to nightly sleep. It always seems to connect fine, but on the rare occasions where I want to drive somewhere after 22:00 there is a noticeable but short delay before the screens come on (5s or so) when I get in.

    Agreed on the other options of tapping the footbrake having already got out of the seat, or leaving a door ajar, both of which will run the car's systems for 30 minutes (and both of which will defeat walk away locking, but you can manually lock the car in the case of the footbrake).
     
  12. smac

    smac Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,121
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    I'm on 2.0.77 (according to the about screen) which might explain it. There's definitely some quirks with it, like the 3 symbol when charging from 3 phase now appears shifted left and half under the regen/power bar.

    I've disconnected the car from my WiFi, and changed the sleep setting to off, and now it all seems fine again.

    It's good to know the foot brake tap trick, though I did prefer my old routine that didn't involve going outside :D
     
  13. gdavison

    gdavison Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Hampshire / Berkshire Border
    If it helps the latest online version of the manual (touchscreen_6.0_das_model_s_owners_manual_eu_r20141017_en_uk_0.pdf) quotes its 10 pm to 5am
     
  14. gdavison

    gdavison Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Hampshire / Berkshire Border

Share This Page