Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Anyone fund a HUD that works with the M3?

ucla95

Nov 2, 2012
USA
I'm not a techie but from what I've read since we don't have an OBD-II port we can't use these aftermarket HUDs, correct?

edit - find, not fund

Nogasmn

Dec 8, 2018
Rochester
Geotech? Makes an obd2 adapter that is priced reasonably, I have it just haven't installed it. Once I do I was going to get a HUD but now that I have had the car for about a year I'm not sure I need one. People have reported that adapter works.

SD_Engnr

Mar 24, 2016
San Diego
And it's on sale right now for.....

$2,985.00 – $3,515.00

Yeah, not cheap, but it's a Motec device. The display itself is typically $2k. Throw in the development costs, the mount, the CAN bus adapter, and the fact you can basically configure the screen to your heart's desire, it's quite a fair price. The value is there if you're into motorsports. If not, then yes, it's just expensive.

Nogasmn

Dec 8, 2018
Rochester
Yeah, not cheap, but it's a Motec device. The display itself is typically $2k. Throw in the development costs, the mount, the CAN bus adapter, and the fact you can basically configure the screen to your heart's desire, it's quite a fair price. The value is there if you're into motorsports. If not, then yes, it's just expensive.
A lifetime ago I was looking at the motec system for my Eclipse GSX. If I still had the car I would totally do it!

KenC

Sep 4, 2018
Maine
There was a HUD I saw on Kickstarter or Indiegogo a while back, and they had a Model 3 specific device. It might have been Hudway. I remember seeing they had a crazy night vision cam option, using thermal imaging. For those of us in rural areas, with lots of critters at night, it seemed useful, but not $800 useful!

Found it, HUDWAY Drive: The best head-up display for any car

Reactions: Nogasmn

SalisburySam

Aug 11, 2018
Salisbury, North Carolina