TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Anyone in Canada have Homelink functionality in their app?

Discussion in 'Canada' started by wayner, Jan 10, 2016.

  1. wayner

    wayner Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,600
    Location:
    Toronto
    It looks like the app has a Homelink button but it is on a new Summon screen. I don't have that screen on my iOS app - I am assuming that is the case with everyone in Canada, or even anyone outside of the US. Does anyone in Canada have this functionality.
     
  2. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,570
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    I don't, but it wasn't clear to me if you only get it on Autopilot-equipped cars (which I don't have). I did get the iOS update for the Tesla app itself, but it looks exactly the same.
     
  3. InternetDude

    InternetDude Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    SK/Canada
    No and I have 7.1 and updated my iOS app today, it mentioned Summon in the app update.
     
  4. green1

    green1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,116
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    The release notes specifically state that the homelink functionality in the app is US only. and it appears this is because they did the boneheaded thing of putting it on the summon page that nobody outside the US has access too.

    Sounds like we aren't missing much though, the homelink doesn't work unless the fob and the phone are both within 10ft of the car and the car isn't plugged in... seems a bit of a corner case for me.
     
  5. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,853
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    So it's intended for autopilot owners to be able to open the garage and drive the car out automatically. Corner case indeed! If my car's in the garage, it's plugged in.

    Seems dumb to restrict it like that. I mean you might want to open the garage door so you can pull the plug...
     
  6. Judge Advocate

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Mississauga, On, Can
    My hone link function works but I might disable it.
    Not always do I want to drive into the garage when returning home.
    Also, I have to quickly disengage the alarm as door opens.
    A pain!
    i wish they would update something useful such as bigger numbers on the phone dialing screen so we can dial the correct number while driving.
    I'm sure everyone has experienced this annoyance!
     

Share This Page