TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Anyone using the EVTV OBDII adapter with Torque/Scan my Tesla?

Discussion in 'Model 3: User Interface' started by Electric Dream, Sep 26, 2019.

  1. Electric Dream

    Electric Dream Pilots the Millennium Milkfloat

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,287
    Location:
    UK
    I've connected the EVTV adapter today and am using a OBDLink MX BT adapter with it.
    I've installed Torque and Scan my Tesla and both seem to be able to communicate OK with the MX but neither app is receiving any data from my Model 3.

    The OBD and Host lights on the MX are lighting up when first connecting Scan my Tesla but then go out and I then get a message 'no data received for 30 seconds...".

    In Torque, they stay flashing but all the dials display zero values.

    What else do I need to do?
     
  2. SageBrush

    SageBrush 2020: Drain the Sewer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    11,152
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Does your phone stay connected to the OBDLink ?
     
  3. Electric Dream

    Electric Dream Pilots the Millennium Milkfloat

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,287
    Location:
    UK
    Yes
     
  4. SageBrush

    SageBrush 2020: Drain the Sewer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    11,152
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Is there a handshake between the OBDLink and the EVTV adapter ?
    Is there a handshake between the EVTV adapter and the car ?

    The answers might give a hint in what order to connect the devices and whether to add pauses between connections.
     
  5. Electric Dream

    Electric Dream Pilots the Millennium Milkfloat

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,287
    Location:
    UK
    Ok now I've found a thread on another forum which has led to me checking and changing the can connections inside the evtv unit which were wrong. Now I'm receiving data and can see some values in Torque, but in scanmytesla it's still timing out with no data displayed.
     
  6. ste0

    ste0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Viken, Norway
    What was the settings you changed?
    Using Torque Pro and not getting any data from my Model 3 2020.

    I have "Tesla Model 3 OBDII Adapter - for Models manufactured after January 9, 2019" from EVTV.
    No problem plugging it in and I am able to connect using USB from Win10 PC with PuTTY terminal so I can change settings.
    Using Torque Pro I can connect over WiFi.
    Adapter Status Information looks ok except the following:
    - Vehicle Manufacturer: "Unknown".
    - VIN Code: "Not present".
    - Calibration ID: "Not present".
    Torque Pro Adapter Status Information WiFi 2020-01-12_10-51-17.png

    Current settings:
    LOGLEVEL=1 - set log level (0=debug, 1=info, 2=warn, 3=error, 4=off)
    CAN0EN=1 - Enable/Disable CAN0 (0 = Disable, 1 = Enable)
    CAN0SPEED=500000 - Set speed of CAN0 in baud (125000, 250000, etc)
    CAN0LISTENONLY=0 - Enable/Disable Listen Only Mode (0 = Dis, 1 = En)
    CAN1EN=1 - Enable/Disable CAN1 (0 = Disable, 1 = Enable)
    CAN1SPEED=500000 - Set speed of CAN1 in baud (125000, 250000, etc)
    CAN1LISTENONLY=0 - Enable/Disable Listen Only Mode (0 = Dis, 1 = En)
    FORWARDCAN=0 - Forward CAN traffic between CAN0 and CAN1 (0 = No, 1 = Yes)
    SSID=ESP32OBD2 - SSID for creating a soft AP
    WPA2KEY=******** - WPA2 key to use for softAP
    WIFIMODE=1 - 0 = Connect to an AP as client, 1 = Make a softAP
    WIFICHAN=11 - WiFi Channel to use as an AP
    CLIENTSSID=EVTV - SSID to connect to as a client
    CLIENTWPA2KEY=usatoday - WPA2 key to use when connecting to AP
    ALLOWSC=0 - Allow SavvyCAN connections (0 = no, 1 = yes)

    Also tried with OBDLink MX+. Same result.

    Torque Pro Adapter Status Information connected to BT (ODBLink MX+) 1.png
    Jack Rickard at EVTV said "To allow your Bluetooth device to work, you need to set FORWARDCAN=1" so I tried that too with same result, ie no data.

    Using Scan My Tesla I get "No data for 30 sec. Restarting... ":
    Scan My Tesla EVTV ODBLink MX+ No data...2020-01-12_11-02-52.png

    Setting ALLOWSC=1 I am able to use SavvyCAN from Win10 PC to connect over WiFi. Again not seeing any data.

    So, do I have faulty hardware or am I just configuring things wrongly?
     
  7. DrDabbles

    DrDabbles Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    994
    Location:
    NH, US
    To answer the original question. It does not work. The ESP32 isn't forwarding filters properly, and it isn't forwarding packets fast enough. I've got it to forward basically 1-2 packets per second versus the 700+ that a CAN tap offers.

    It's possible that we could customize the firmware, but the upstream libraries will need modification as well as the EVTV device. I looked into it for a week or so, and it was just more of a PITA than buying a tap for $10.
     
  8. ste0

    ste0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Viken, Norway
    :( Ok, newer mind BT.
    Connecting to the EVTV adapter over WiFi from Torque Pro is meant to just work out of the box.
    I've done a factory reset of the adapter and tried three different Android devices with version 4, 9, and 10 of Android with complete removal and re-install of Torque Pro and still no luck.
    What am I doing wrong?
    I assume plenty others out there do have the EVTV adapter and Torque Pro which works just fine?

    Anything I can do to figure out if the adapter it self is faulty?

    PS: I do windows/web development mainly using C#. Have no experience programming microcontrollers.
     
  9. linux-works

    linux-works Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2019
    Messages:
    1,591
    Location:
    mtn view, ca
    esp32? wow ;)

    I do some work on the esp32 from time to time. can't believe someone ships a real product using that hacker chip.

    I'm hoping to get a can bus adapter for my m3, someday. I do can/lin stuff at work so might be fun to get a direct can sniff.

    I've had good luck with the very cheap and standard mcp2515 parts on arduinos and even raspberry pi's. as long as tesla is using regular can and not can-fd, the microchip modules ($8 or less on amazon/ebay) in spi mode can capture at full wire speed on any SINGLE bus.

    the other thing I use a lot at work is the salaea clone usb 8 port logic analysers with simple mcp style transceivers to level shift can to ttl. you can get 8 full channels of wire-speed sniff and decode by using the salaea app or using open source alternatives.

    what I do trust is to use the usb cypress streamer chips to sink data to a pc over usb; then decode the data post-capture and export to csv etc.
     
  10. P3Orion

    P3Orion Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2019
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Melbourne FL
    Ok, I'll ask the obvious question. Did you load the Tesla PID file provided by EVTV? I've been using TorquePro with the EVTV device for several months without problems. I have the OBDLink LX adapter.

    The EVTV device will not work with ScanMyTesla. For that, you need one of these HRN-CT20T11 | Geotab GO | Geotab Adapters | GPS Fleet Tracking
     
  11. ste0

    ste0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Viken, Norway
    Yepp.
     
  12. ste0

    ste0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Viken, Norway
    Thanks! Same trouble with my adapter, green was wrongly connected to CAN0 LO and white to CAN0 HI. Swapped them and got things working using WiFi. Bluetooth will not work (Have not tried with FORWARDCAN=1 yet, possibly that will do the trick).
    EVTV OBDII Adapter Model 3 2019... microcontroller 2020-01-14_21-35-41256.png
     

    Attached Files:

  13. DrDabbles

    DrDabbles Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    994
    Location:
    NH, US
    FORWARDCAN is how I got it forwarding a few packets per second. But it doesn't forward filters properly, it isn't fast enough, and the BT connector will timeout several times before the app connects properly.

    It flat out doesn't work.

    Your best bet is to use the CAN pins inside the EVTV box to just jumper directly to the additional dongle, or to buy a CAN bus tap for $10 like I did, and leave the EVTV device for high speed raw dumps over wifi.
     
  14. derotam

    derotam Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2018
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Oak Hill, VA
    So I am curious, what is the difference between using EVTV's adapter vs using the HRN-CT20T1 OBDII harness? Just wi-fi capability?
     
  15. DrDabbles

    DrDabbles Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    994
    Location:
    NH, US
    They are in no way similar. One is just a tap for the CAN bus (CT20T1). The other is a microprocessor used to receive CAN messages.
     
  16. derotam

    derotam Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2018
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Oak Hill, VA
    That doesn't answer the question.

    What does EVTV's device get me for ~$250 more? Tossing the word microprocessor in there doesn't say anything by itself. They are both just tapping into the same 3-4 wires from the car right? Is it just the built in Wi-Fi capability, and built in access to more of the specific data words?
     
  17. DrDabbles

    DrDabbles Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    994
    Location:
    NH, US
    The EVTV device can have software loaded onto it. Which means you can write software to do whatever you like, The device can be set up to capture CAN data and forward it over WiFi to a listening device, can be set up to pass some data through to a second connector, can be set up for logging, or you can write software to do whatever you like.

    What it can not do is pass data through to the second connector at a high enough rate for proper data logging, it can not forward filters from the secondary connector to the primary, and it can not be a blind tap of the CAN bus unless you rewire it internally. It also doesn't preclude you from buying the CT20T1, using it to tap the CAN bus, and dangling the EVTV device off of it.

    They aren't similar things. They don't serve similar purposes. One is literally just a wire harness, the other is an actual computer.
     
  18. derotam

    derotam Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2018
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Oak Hill, VA
    Thank you for your answer and it is what I thought. The EVTV device and the wire harness both use the SAME data, but the EVTV device has software built in for analysis and can be user programmed to provide user specific analysis. You just pay more for the extra customization capability, which is normal.
     
  19. DrDabbles

    DrDabbles Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    994
    Location:
    NH, US
    I guess what I'm saying is that the harness doesn't use any data. It's literally just wires and plastic. It just lets you plug a J1962 CAN adapter into the car while retaining the existing connections that the vehicle needs. But your interpretation of the EVTV device is correct.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC