Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Anyone using the "vent" feature during garage charging?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Long time lurker, newish poster...

Just picked up my Model YP this morning so there's a lot I'm still learning. I've searched through the forums and don't really see this discussed. I am using the supplied wall charger 110v to charge the vehicle and noticed the cabin temperature rising higher than the ambient temperature of the garage. I also noticed a "vent" button next to the temperature control on the climate control screen within the Tesla app. I didn't know if anyone was using this feature to vent out the interior heat during charging specifically if you park inside a garage. Or is this feature more for hot days? I didn't know if the cabin temperate rising was correlated to charging inside a garage.

Attachments

• image0.png
    image0.png
    761.9 KB · Views: 164
The photo shows the temperature inside the garage as 71F. Was it really that warm in Charlotte today? It there another heat source inside the garage such as a water heater?

A suggestion; if you are going to use the Gen2 Mobile Connector that comes with the Tesla Model Y vehicle for daily charging then get a cable organizer such as this one from Tesla or similar on Amazon. If you scroll down to photos 2 thru 4 you will see that the Mobile Connector chassis (the electronics brick) is mounted with the included bracket to the wall so the weight of the Mobile Connector and charging cord is not pulling on the receptacle or power plug.

Cable Organizer

The photo shows the temperature inside the garage as 71F. Was it really that warm in Charlotte today? It there another heat source inside the garage such as a water heater?