TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

AP2 HW and Road Signs (how to report a mis-read?)

Discussion in 'Model X' started by Lou gagna, Jan 3, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Lou gagna

    Lou gagna Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Princeton, NJ
    Sorry if this has been already discussed.

    Less than a week ago, I took delivery of a MXP90D with AP2 HW.

    So far, the only logical conclusion I came up with for the road signs is that the car reads from a databse, not from the posted signs on the road.

    Two examples:
    - A section of the road is limited to 25 MPH. There are several signs (typical vertical rectangles, black writing, White backfground) in succession of 50 to 100 yards. The signs are clearly visible (no branches, no bliding sunlight, etc.). I drove on this section multiple times already. The limit speed on the dash is not displayed (missign from the DB). No matter how many times I drove the section, nothing has changed.

    - The dask shows the limit to be 35MPH while the signs clearly reads 30MPH (the change was made recently). I drove twice already in that section. Still the dash shows 35MPH. In another section the dash says limit is 45MPH when clearly the signs say 25MPH.

    So two questions:
    A) Is there an issue with my AP2 HW? How could I report this bug? How could I check everything is working as expected (self diagnostic)?
    B) if and when in AutoPilot, will the car considers the limit to be the one displayed on the dash? If I made a correction (disengaging the AP, setting the cruise to the sign post limits) will that help the car "memorizes" the limit on the section?

    Inquisitive minds want to know, and thank you all for reading so far.
     
  2. Tam

    Tam Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    2,924
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    You can report bugs/concerns at Tesla Contact webpage.

    It's interesting of what you saw. It seems AP2 is relying on GPS database speed limits while previous reports from AP1 said that it relies on visual signs first.
     
  3. wesley888

    wesley888 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    517
    Location:
    Huntington Station, NY
    i believe the cameras are not even on until you get part of the AP2 firmware update that rolled out to those 1000 cars in California.

    I tested the speed assist feature when it first came out couple of weeks ago, and I'm sure it did not read the speed signs, just like you experienced. It just used the GPS database for the speed limit (for now).
     
    • Like x 1
  4. Tam

    Tam Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    2,924
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Thanks for mentioning about the AP2 activation timeline which I completely forgot!
     
  5. MP3Mike

    MP3Mike Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,899
    Location:
    Oregon
    Which is exactly what the release notes said that Speed Assist currently does: "Note: The cameras cannot detect speed limit signs at this time. This functionality is expected to be implemented in a future software update."

    [​IMG]
     
    • Informative x 1
    • Like x 1

Share This Page