TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Apostrophe thread redirect loops?

Discussion in 'Site Feedback' started by charliestyr, Nov 24, 2012.

  1. charliestyr

    charliestyr EVangelist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #1 charliestyr, Nov 24, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2012
    Hi all,

    I am having an issue where opening a thread which has an apostrophe in the title (and thus URL) causes a redirect loop and won't open the page. This commonly happens in the owners stories threads, "poor man's model S" and "digitaltim's delivery story" for example.

    I'm using Chrome on OS X (latest version), the same issue happens in Firefox and Safari. It however doesn't happen on my iPhone when using the same internet connection my Mac uses.

    In the URL bar the apostrophes appear as question marks:

    Screen%20Shot%202012-11-24%20at%2009.27.05.png

    Any advice? Thanks in advance :)

    Charlie -

    e2a: also I have tried all the cookie business that Chrome suggests, and have googled the topic a bit also. I found one person discussing problems on their board that they were running with the same exact issue, but no solution except to change the way the board displays thread URLs (i.e. getting rid of the "pretty" part of the thread URL and just having numbers).

    But obviously these threads are being read by most people so I guess my computer is causing the problem :p
     
  2. swaltner

    swaltner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    Strange, I'm running Safari 6.0.2, which is part of my Mac OS X 10.8.2 install and I haven't seen that issue at all.

    For me, the link on the forum index points to .../11278-Poor-Man’s-Model-S, which either the web server (or Safari) rewrites as .../11278-Poor-Man%92s-Model-S. It flashes the URL with the apostrophe in it in the URL bar and then automatically goes to the one with the escaped character in it.
     
  3. charliestyr

    charliestyr EVangelist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    ah, interesting. If I go and copy %92 in place of the "question mark" it works... I guess I'll just have to remember "%92" haha... now the problem with digitaltim's thread, the three full stops at the end. From a google I see that a full stop is %2E (?) so, if I copy and paste that three times, chrome 'corrects' it back to full stops and then I get the redirect loop again... joyful! haha

    It's a strange little quirk... I have had this happen in the past but then suddenly they would stop redirecting and it would just work. Anyway, thanks for your thoughts! :)

    Charlie -
     
  4. Babylonfive

    Babylonfive Power12

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    Cedar Park (Austin), Texas
    Quick comment - we call it a 'period' in the US, so some might not have known what you meant when you said 'full stop'... <- and that (three periods) is called an 'ellipsis'
     
  5. charliestyr

    charliestyr EVangelist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    ha, I was contemplating writing 'periods' but then.. I dunno, my British-ness got the better of me. (Still, since this is a mostly US forum, probably should have gone for it). Thanks for the note about the ellipsis, I was also trying to recall the name of that but decided to give up :D
     
  6. doug

    doug Administrator / Head Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    15,869
    Location:
    Stanford, California
    I renamed the thread with a more standard apostrophe. Hopefully that remedies the problem.

    Poor Man's Model S
     
  7. charliestyr

    charliestyr EVangelist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    aha! it does... thanks Doug. In the url it appears as a hyphen, the same as spaces.

    Charlie -
     

Share This Page