Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Are the delays in repair severe?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I'm a Tesla newbie. We received our new 2022 MY3LR 8 weeks ago after a 6 month wait. Beautiful car and my 4yo, 5yo kids keep talking about how awesome it is all the time. Sad part is that a deer rammed into the car on the passenger side yesterday. Fender and passenger side doors had dents and the mirror came out of its slot. Googled and took the car to a certified tesla collision center and the guy over there is saying that it's going to be 2-3 months before they get the parts and another month or so for them to fix it. And he said I should leave the car with them till it's all done. I left it with them, but it's bugging me all day long.

Two questions for those more knowledgable about these:
1) Are these delays genuine? This is a brand new car, so wouldn't tesla be able to produce the parts faster? Should I try another service center?
2) I'm paying a hefty amount on the loan each month for this one - do I have any option to recoup some of the losses? Also, my insurance covers rental for only 30 days which doesn't sound like it'll cut it with the estimated timeline.

This has been a really devastating experience for my family and especially the kids and I feel lost as the Tesla Service center apparently doesn't deal with these. Is there a person or team at Tesla that we can talk to who can help streamline this body repair situation and give us some comfort?

Thanks for your response in advance.

Sounds like everyone is ok, so that’s 👍

There are delays in parts, there is truth in that - supply chain issues, shortages, prioritization to build new cars, etc. without knowing how bad the damage is, can you share the repair estimate (redact personal info)? Or photos? Others who are more knowledgeable can opine then.