TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Audio: no possibility of usb drive (platter)?

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by dtich, Dec 18, 2012.

  1. dtich

    dtich #P708

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    428
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    hi all. i know that it's been ascertained that at the moment a platter usb drive will not work in the system, but i'm unclear about whether this is an actual electronic limitation, or a software (somehow..?) limitation. is there any hope/thought that a platter drive (one that runs on usb bus power) might eventually work in the car? i mean why would it not? the usb ports must have standard bus power to charge phones and whatnot, correct? 5VDC i think it is.. what else would be the holdup here...?

    i'd like to have my whole lib in there, but it's around 225GB now.. VERY expensive thumbdrive. i can downsize to a thumb, but that just requires maintenance, i.e., periodically selecting new music, copying, etc... rather than the simple update of copying the whole lib every now and again... much easier.

    thanks for the thoughts..
     
  2. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15,487
  3. spleen

    spleen Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,125
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    SSDs can have as much power usage as a portable 2.5 inch HD. My SanDisk SSD needed more power than a single USB port could supply.
     
  4. Jason S

    Jason S Model S Sig Perf (P85)

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,350
    Location:
    Rocklin, CA
    Two thumb drives. 128G ones aren't too expensive. :smile:
     
  5. dtich

    dtich #P708

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    428
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    is that what you use? does anyone use two usb thumbs? i think i saw that in someone's pic recently... does it work well, the browsing seamless alphabetically or do you have to switch devices to search? and, of course, you're taking up both ports... which is an unnecessary drag.
     
  6. dflye

    dflye S Sig Perf 414, VIN 814

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    I have 2 small capacity thumb drives attached now; one for my music, one for son's; makes it easier for finding the right songs when driving to / from school (Christmas with the Chipmunks is going to drive me bonkers very soon) and another set for me when running errands.

    There doesn't appear to be any way to combine the lists between the two devices, at least with the older firmware (not upgraded to 4.x yet)
     
  7. montgom626

    montgom626 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    USA
    Very cool! And you can switch back and forth? Can you post a picture of the screen showing the 2 USB drives????
     
  8. dflye

    dflye S Sig Perf 414, VIN 814

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Yeah, the two devices show up in the list of "My Music & Devices", although they don't use the volume name from the drives, just a generic "USB x" name.

    TeslaMediaUSB.jpg
     
  9. FlasherZ

    FlasherZ Sig Model S + Sig Model X + Model 3 Resv

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7,019
    I can confirm that using a platter drive does work. I have a 500G Hitachi drive that has my MP3's and it works as you can see below:

    CameraZOOM-20121219103136494.jpg CameraZOOM-20121219103208032.jpg
     
  10. montgom626

    montgom626 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    USA
    Thank you for the posting of the pics. I am waiting for my MS, so this is a close as I can get to living the dream!

    How big a USB do you use? Do you know the limit for the USB drive? What file system? NTFS?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Another great post with pictures!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  11. FlasherZ

    FlasherZ Sig Model S + Sig Model X + Model 3 Resv

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7,019
    That is a 500G drive, formatted to one entire 500G FAT partition. Format was done by my Macbook Pro.
     
  12. spleen

    spleen Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,125
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    Didn't realize that FAT would support such a large drive. Good to know.
     
  13. clea

    clea Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    817
    Location:
    Laval, Quebec
    neither did I ... and i still don't as i always thought the max size for a partition formatted as FAT was 32G. I would assume that FlasherZ meant FAT32 unless he replies to confirm and reveal his secret.
     
  14. montgom626

    montgom626 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    USA
    it must be FAT32.
     
  15. spleen

    spleen Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,125
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    I'm assuming so as well. :)
     
  16. FlasherZ

    FlasherZ Sig Model S + Sig Model X + Model 3 Resv

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7,019
    I'm assuming the same. The Mac just calls it "FAT (MS-DOS)" but it's safe to assume it's FAT32.
     
  17. dsm363

    dsm363 Roadster + Sig Model S

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    18,235
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
  18. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15,487
    FAT(16) and FAT32 work in the Model S. NTFS does not.

    At least for my vehicle.
     
  19. dtich

    dtich #P708

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    428
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    thanks! that's what i wanted to hear.

    so, just to confirm, the car will not support a drive formatted in mac os ext?
     
  20. TXjak

    TXjak Owner/Investor/Advocate

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    326
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    So what's the best/easiest way to move a CD collection to a platter drive?
     

Share This Page