TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

Auto adjusting cruise to current speed limit

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by bcsteeve, Sep 26, 2017.

  1. bcsteeve

    bcsteeve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Three part question:

    1) Am I missing it somewhere? Can the cruise control not automatically adjust when a new speed zone is identified? The manual seems to indicate "no", but there's been several points I've found where the manual doesn't meet with reality so I figured I'd ask.

    2) Assuming "no" above, is there a reason *not* to develop such a feature? Safety, etc... something I'm not thinking about. I'm pretty sure I can implement a method for auto adjusting, but just because I can... doesn't mean I "should". I don't understand why they wouldn't, but likely there's a reason I'm not immediately recognizing.

    3) Any interest if I can/should/do? It shouldn't be to hard or expensive to accomplish, and I think I can do it entirely passively. Of course I need to bust out my analyzer before I know for sure but wanted some initial feedback first.
     
  2. CinRedMan

    CinRedMan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Dayton, Ohio
    Interesting thought...
    I've been using my adaptive cruise the past few days, but really didn't notice when changing speed zones :-( One reason against is to keep the driver engaged in aware of "what has been set". For instance, in adaptive cruse, you set the "upper limit". I think an auto-adjustment above the limit might create confusion and/or cause some level of panic. AP2.0 has been super impressive, so much so, I must constantly remind myself "Beta" and no matter what, I"m responsible.
     
  3. bcsteeve

    bcsteeve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Thank you. Personally, I think the "I'm responsible" mantra is overriding. No matter what tool one is using - be it Tesla's build-in methods or some aftermarket implementation... it is just a tool for the driver to use. Nothing more.

    I was, frankly, a little shocked when I noticed it not changing the speeds. I just assumed it would. What is the point of being "aware" if it isn't going to adjust? But maybe that's just me.

    I realize all it takes is a pull/hold (something not covered int he manual, BTW) of the handle to update to the speed... but I personally think it should automatically adjust, or at least have that option.

    Thanks for your input.
     
  4. RichardL

    RichardL Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    San Carlos, California
    My understanding was that if you are only using TACC, then the speed limit related setting was only for when you first engage TACC. if the limit changes, the set speed does not change.

    I never use AP on anything except the freeway, but I thought it automatically changed speed with the limit changes when engaged - in fact I thought that was the reason many were unhappy in the early days before they could set the delta above the limit - they were worried about slowing down to a new limit and being hit from behind.
     
  5. PatrickCH4313

    PatrickCH4313 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Two pictures showing the automatic speed adjustment :

    TACC and Autosteer ON, Speed sign 60 km/h, Max Speed 60 km/h, current Speed 60 km/h

    [​IMG]


    Speed sign changed to 50 km/h,
    Message "Speed limited to 50 km/h with TACC/Autosteer" (German:"Lenkassistent-Geschwindigkeit auf 50 km/h begrenzt")
    Max Speed changed to 50 km/h and current Speed automatically adjusted to 50 km/h


    [​IMG]
     
  6. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2,498
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    My understand is it goes to X above the limit when starting, and then, right, it's up to you. Unless following someone....

    The sign on the dash shows the new limit, but it won't *go* there, it's Traffic Aware CC, not Speed Limit Aware CC. (Meaning always doing SL + X).

    Edit: The manual isn't always current to the second, but the PDF does show this:

    upload_2017-9-26_17-2-53.png
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Saghost

    Saghost Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,751
    Location:
    Delaware
    If you pull towards you and hold for a second or so, it'll jump to the new limit (plus whatever offset you have set.)

    Right now, it only adjusts automatically when in AP, and only downwards, and only on non-divided roads (based on GPS) - in those cases it limits to 5 mph over, and adjusts down as needed to comply with that - and back up when the limit increases if and only if it was initially set higher.

    The original AP demonstration included adjusting to match limits, but they've never given us software that does beyond the AP limit on undivided roads. I expect this will change at some point in the future, but right now the speed limit detection isn't as reliable as I'd like for that feature anyway.
     
    • Helpful x 1
  8. PatrickCH4313

    PatrickCH4313 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Switzerland
    This is correct.
     
  9. bcsteeve

    bcsteeve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    In my area we have a ton of speed changes and thus far I have never had it automatically adjust, and it's annoying. I'll take the above and go do more driving and testing.
     
  10. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2,498
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    I'm going to need to test this also when I get my car back... I have the offset at 10, which is too high on first testing, because it takes off on local roads, of course. I'll change it to 0 and see how all this works...
     
  11. TLej

    TLej Little-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Well, there are times when my car thinks I'm driving in a 50 zone (or a 10 zone) when I'm actually on a 100 km/h highway. I'd prefer it not to auto-adjust in those cases. I have not found the speed limit sign recognition (or database, however it's driven) to be infallible in my experience.

    There are also times, usually when transitioning down from highway to city roads, where the speed limit steps down from 100 to 90 to 80, but traffic continues on at 100. Being the only one slowing down could be...uncomfortable.
     
  12. bcsteeve

    bcsteeve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Logic could be implemented to address that. Off the top of my head... it could beep before auto-adjusting and allow you to cancel when you see that they've mis-identified a sign. So far, I've never seen that happen, but I've only been driving it for a couple of days. So far, it has been spot on with reading the signs (or whatever it is doing).

    In that 100-90-80 scenario you mention... if you prefer to go 100 in those situations then I would suggest this feature wouldn't be for you. But I'm not suggesting Tesla do this and force it on us. I'm saying for those that DO want it to auto adjust from 100 to 90 to 80 (or vice versa), that the option should be there and I believe I can implement it.

    I personally don't give a rat's behind if someone behind me wants to speed. That's their issue. I'm concerned about my own tickets.
     
  13. bcsteeve

    bcsteeve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Hmm... could probably also tie into the GPS tagging (like how it remembers when to adjust suspension) and auto-ignore certain would-be changes.
     
  14. Saghost

    Saghost Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,751
    Location:
    Delaware
    Build a fancy learning system - it defaults to responding to the signs, but it remembers when you override it, and after the second time you override a location, it stops adjusting there for your driver profile... :)
     
    • Like x 1
  15. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2,498
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Wait, um, that there AI thing I heard someone tell us about? :D
     
  16. Saghost

    Saghost Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,751
    Location:
    Delaware
    No, that's when they do a heat map of the ignores from the fleet as a whole and send out corrections for locations where a significant portion of the population are overriding a change...
     
  17. bcsteeve

    bcsteeve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Good suggestion. As long as I can get the gps tagging method, it can be done using only built in equipment and routines, which really keeps the cost down. If that data gets reported on the CAN network in some identifiable way, it'll be easy. If it is on the ethernet, then not so much. It is probably on ethernet due to the size of a coordinate package. I'll check when my parts show up.
     
  18. bcsteeve

    bcsteeve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    If it's the Doomsday AI that Musk keeps predicting, then they'd take that heat map and bring all the cars to that location simultaneously.
     
  19. Ande

    Ande Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Norway
    When using autosteer, it will follow speed limit reductions just fine. Need manual input to go up.
     
  20. bcsteeve

    bcsteeve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Yes, that's what others said above. To me, it is strange behavior. First off, the reliance on autosteer... what does steering have to do with speed maintenance? Second, why only reductions?

    Those are the things I seek to solve.
     

Share This Page