TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Auto High Beams no longer works well

Discussion in 'Model S' started by kirkbauer, May 8, 2016.

  1. kirkbauer

    kirkbauer Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    539
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    This feature worked surprisingly well for about 6 months but now it almost always auto-dims the high beams even with no other cars around. Was this a software change affecting others or is it just me?

    I find it strange since it uses the front camera from what I understand and autopilot works just fine.
     
    • Like x 1
  2. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    13,273
    Location:
    Texas
    Did you try rebooting both screens?
     
  3. kirkbauer

    kirkbauer Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    539
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I will now :)
     
  4. Caligula

    Caligula Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    San Diego
    It also dims for street lights as per the manual.
     
    • Disagree x 1
  5. mspohr

    mspohr Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,487
    Location:
    California
    I noticed this driving home the other night. It kept the lights on low beam most of the way even though no other cars on a deserted mountain road. Occasionally it would flicker to high beam for a fraction of a second.
    It used to work almost perfectly.
    I have rebooted recently.
     
  6. srthomas21

    srthomas21 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    Utah, United States
    Is this a feature you have to enable? I had this on my last car and liked it but I don't think I've ever seen them come on automatically since I've owned the car.
     
  7. Caligula

    Caligula Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    San Diego
    Only if you have AP enabled. Cars without AP enabled don't have this option.
     
  8. mspohr

    mspohr Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,487
    Location:
    California
    The feature is actually "auto dimming of high beams". You turn on high beams with the left side stalk and if you've enabled it in the controls, it will automatically dim the high beams for an oncoming car or when you come up behind another car.
    It used to work very well, always dimming when appropriate and rarely dimming with false input (such as roadside reflectors).
    Now, it really doesn't work at all. It keeps the lights dimmed all the time with only an occasional flicker of high beam.
    I do hope they fix it since I have found it to be very useful in the past.
     
  9. Sandy

    Sandy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Bow Mar, CO
    I've noticed the same. I live at the end of a dark street next to a lake. In the past (last month) the high beams would come on as soon as I turned onto my street and stay on until I arrived home. Now they flick on for less than a second several time while driving down that same street. One thing I noticed was that there was a full moon and the night sky was relatively bright. I'll have to check whether this has changed now that it is near the new moon.
     
  10. gimmi80

    gimmi80 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Pittsford, NY
    I've also noticed a change. And i like it better before.
     
  11. Debo

    Debo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    My MS manufactured in March of 2016 is also exhibiting this behavior.
     
    • Love x 1
  12. minderbinder

    minderbinder Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    Concord, MA
    I have noticed this behavior as well (MS 11/2015): Auto-high beams flicker on briefly, then go back to low for long stretches while on a street where it used to work fine. It's not completely consistent - sometimes it works normally. Rebooting doesn't fix it. I suspect it started in one of the more recent updates, but I can't be sure.
     
  13. Fezzik

    Fezzik P67429

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, IL
    Yeah. I've noticed my highbeams will not come on when it was dark.
     
  14. Skotty

    Skotty 2014 Model S P85

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,937
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Auto high beams is the one auto feature of the Tesla Model S that I just can't stand. It was constantly either not turning the high beams on in places where it would make sense to, or more often, turning high beams on in inappropriate places, often switching them back off fairly quickly, randomly flashing other drivers and neighborhood houses. It's just terrible. And it's really not needed either. Most of the time the low beams are fine, and it's easy to turn the high beams on and off in the rare times you can actually use them.
     
  15. zzzspeed

    zzzspeed Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Same here. Thought I was imagining it.
     
  16. sorka

    sorka Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    4,259
    Location:
    Merced, CA
    Same problem here. Started on the first Mario Kart update.
     
  17. whitex

    whitex Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    1,553
    Location:
    Seattle area, WA
    Yep, after driving a few times while holding the high beam stick away from the dash (overrides Auto High Beam) I'm close to just disabling it. It did used to work better - now it dims almost all the time.
     
  18. LegalCounsel

    LegalCounsel Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    EU
    I have noticed the same. The high beams do not come on very often even if it is dark.
     
  19. Whitmarsh

    Whitmarsh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Salisbury, UK
    Same here. I think it went wrong after 2.16.17. I have reported and await response.
     
  20. RAW84

    RAW84 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    Boston
    I've noticed this as well.
     

Share This Page