Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Automatic High Beams Suck

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

oktane

Oct 25, 2016
USA
Tried searching forum and didn't find much.

I'm not happy with the auto high beam feature. I can't find a way to disable it in the menus. It can be dangerous to not have high beams turn on when I feel it is appropriate, because the software overrules me.

I am a very conscientious driver (at least when it comes to not blinding people). I do an excellent job of manually modulating the beam on and off based on traffic conditions.

With auto high beams, often times the computer won't let me engage high beams. No one is in front of me. I can pull backwards to "flash" but not lock ON. Sometimes if I cycle it on/off the computer will allow engagement.

The logic for turning high beams on and off is flawed and doesn't work consistently.

True "auto high beams" involve matrix lights, where the high beam is selectively disabled for oncoming traffic in only small sections of the light pattern. I know our cars are not capable of this, and it is a shame. Let's hope Model S catches up with other car manufacturers in the future.

IMG_0749.jpg
IMG_0750.jpg

I have an AP1 Model S and a AP2 Model X. AP1 Auto high beam is WAY better than on the AP2 Model X. Quite frankly, it SUCKS on AP 2.0.

On my Model S, it's almost flawless and I can leave it on all night and I rarely have to manually turn it off. On my Model X, different story. I have to manually turn it off so often that I don't even bother using it. It will keep the high beam on even when there is oncoming traffic in plain sight. After traffic passes, it takes forever for the auto high beams to turn on again. It also gets confused with street lights and stop lights. Sometimes, I'll even be on a dark road with only a few street lamps and the high beam will refuse to turn on.