TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Automatic lane change

Discussion in 'Australia & New Zealand' started by brendon1970, Jul 10, 2017.

  1. brendon1970

    brendon1970 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Newcastle, New South Wales
    Wendy and I made our first road trip this weekend Port Stephens to Brisbane and back.

    I have been trying to test out auto-lane change for a few days on local highways, its simply never worked. Then much to my amusement in one spot in NSW and then on the freeway between the NSW/QLD border to Brisbane, the car started rendering more than just a single lane in the drivers info display, and auto lane-change started to work.

    So my question is does anybody understand the conditions required to have the feature work? Is it data driven by maps? Is it geofenced in some way? Or is it driven by the structure of the road itself as identified by the cameras? Or maybe something else?

    Cheers
    Brendon
     
  2. LimoX

    LimoX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Camperdown
    Howdy Brendon, having a lot of different pax in my car I go through 100 questions about the car. I try and show all of its features off in the course of the trip, yes sometimes I have no idea why auto lane changing works and sometimes not in the same area at different time.

    Today with a group of happy Pakistani businessmen (listening to sports news from back home) twice it begun to change lanes at the 4 lanes just north of the airport tunnel (heading north) when the Robot panicked and rather violently resumed its lane.

    I guess it's gotta be programmed fairly conservatively for safety sake, and it must have got a reading from the car 2 lanes away.

    There was a period last week where the Robot simply wouldn't change lanes, then on Saturday started taking orders again.
     
  3. mrpseudonym

    mrpseudonym Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Sydney
    Despite multiple attempts I have never got it to work. I normally try it between north sydney and the airport. @LimoX I must be not trying it at the right spot?
     
  4. brendon1970

    brendon1970 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Newcastle, New South Wales
    for me it works fine on the new bridge at Kempsey, and in SEQ. Basically nowhere else!
     
  5. JHWJR

    JHWJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    Pittsburgh PA
    It works for me nearly always on interstate, limited-access highways. It works for me about 1/2 the time on more local routes.
     
  6. LimoX

    LimoX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Camperdown
    I do hope we've discovered some "individual characteristics" in a Tesla.

    There's no rhyme or reason to it working or not that I. An make out. I guess the Robot is programmed very conservatively for safety sake.

    After driving the X for the last 10 weeks clocking up more than 18,000 km today I find myself in my 2010 Holden Caprice V8 today . Oh my goodness! You can only truly appreciate how good A Tesla is when you step back in time like this!
     
    • Like x 2
    • Funny x 1

Share This Page