TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Autopilot aware of the navigation? Probably not, but here's what worked for me...

Discussion in 'Model S' started by Cebe, Jan 23, 2016.

  1. Cebe

    Cebe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    Canada
    If navigation and autopilot were connected, I'm sure we would have heard about it, so I'm pretty sure there is none (as of now. ) However, here's what happened to me a couple of days ago (my driving routes are not letting me re-test this for a while):

    1. I was driving along a divided highway (401 through Toronto), in the right lane, with autopilot on.
    2. I set the navigation (even though I knew where I was going), and the computed route was for us take the third exit from the current location.
    3. The upcoming two exits, as well as "our" (the third) exit, were all "right lane splits into an exit lane".
    4. AP kept the car in the driving lane (not taking the exit) on the first two exits.
    5. AP took the right, "exit" branch of the third exit. The one that the navigation was having us use.

    Yes, I tried once and succeeded once, but, still, this is most likely just a coincidence. However, it would be most cool if it did work, so... anyone else tried this, and got similar, or opposite results?
     
  2. JenniferQ

    JenniferQ Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    974
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Challenge accepted!
     
  3. xborg

    xborg Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    London
  4. JenniferQ

    JenniferQ Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    974
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Sometimes. I tried it today and it did not exit where Nav said I needed to.

    Question for OP: Were you perchance signaling to exit and AP took this to mean 'change lanes' which then happened to also take the exit? Just a thought.
     
  5. Cebe

    Cebe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    Canada
    Didn't signal the exit, and I have the "change lane when signaling" setting turned off. Probably too good to be true, but that "Autosteer uses Navigation" image above could be what triggered it for me...
     
  6. JenniferQ

    JenniferQ Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    974
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #6 JenniferQ, Jan 23, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2016
    There's a 'change lane when signaling' setting? Hm. I need to go look for that.

    Ahh. "Auto Lane Change." Gotcha.
     

Share This Page