Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Autosteer on 90 degree turn

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I have a fairly sharp 90 degree turn on my morning commute. I've been trying to 'teach' AP to take the turn. At first it would plow straight through. After a few times it would initiate the turn but still miss it. Finally today it was able to make the turn unassisted. It did cross the yellow line and if a car was approaching I would've taken over, but it was pretty cool to watch.

Interesting but I'm sure you know that your technically not suppose to use auto pilot on 2 lane roads / roads without a center divider according to the manual. Some people don't know that so I feel the need to comment because in my opinion all these recent accidents are due to misuse or misunderstanding of the limitations of the current BETA autopilot features... Its definitely a drivers assistant not a fully autonomous replacement. Please be careful out there testing the features, as you said you where ready to take over if necessary, some people don't get that and think autopilot does it all!!

I have a fairly sharp 90 degree turn on my morning commute. I've been trying to 'teach' AP to take the turn. At first it would plow straight through. After a few times it would initiate the turn but still miss it. Finally today it was able to make the turn unassisted. It did cross the yellow line and if a car was approaching I would've taken over, but it was pretty cool to watch.

You are not supposed to use AP in a 2 lane road with oncoming traffic right next to you. When you crash we don't want to hear you claim AP did it.

Serious? Is this what the forum has come to?