Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

battery cooling question

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
The last few months it's been hot but I've supercharged in hotter weather with no issue last year.
It comes up with the air conditioning reduced and supercharging rate may be reduced.
And it takes forever for it to go away. When the AC works it works great.
I was looking in my scan my Tesla and noticed the temps seem a bit high and the louvers aren't at 100%. Shouldn't they be full when it's overheating and even when I'm driving and it's still not cooled down 1 degree after 30 minutes on flat ground at 70 mph.
The only thing under warranty still is the battery but this seems like something else. I'm a mechanic so if anyone has ideas of what to fiddle with I can work it.

Screenshot_20200719_120639_com.emon.canbus.tesla.jpg
Screenshot_20200719_121503_com.emon.canbus.tesla~2.jpg
Screenshot_20200719_121503_com.emon.canbus.tesla~2.jpg
Screenshot_20200719_121627_com.emon.canbus.tesla.jpg
Screenshot_20200719_121619_com.emon.canbus.tesla.jpg

Battery problems over the last year shifted priority to keeping batteries much cooler.

Ok interesting, do my louvers look right though? And should my AC be on or off while it's on overheat mode? I've had it off for the last hour. Made it to my next supercharger and it's still at the same temps, haven't lost a single degree in 65 miles
And I'm here waiting because the charger is full as always and my fans are going apeshit at full power but no temp changes

You should check to see if the louvers are actually opening or not. Also, at least one person that had cooling found that the fins on their radiators were all bent up from road debris which restricted air flow. So you might check to see if you need to use a fin comb to straighten them out.

Reactions: rickyjb