Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Battery Heating/Cooling

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Newbie here who hasn't taken delivery yet (soon) trying to learn as much as possibly before the car arrives. The battery pack has to be heated when the weather is cold and cooled when it is hot. Cooling is handled by a compressor which cools glycol circulated through the battery pack, the motors(?) and the inverters(?). That same compressor presumably cools the cabin by, presumably, sending that same glycol through a liquid to air heat exchanger. Is that correct?

The real question regards heating. Is that done by using a separate resistance heater or by running the compressor as a heat pump which sucks heat out of the air and transfers it to the glycol? Seems to me that in moderate climates at least that would result in more BTU per kWh than straight electric heat (and thus less impact on range) as the COP can never be less than 1. Anyone know the answer to this?

Is that separate from the heater used to warm the batteries?

the battery has its own heater to warm itself as far as i know. In practical sense, the battery does not actually need to be "heated" in order to function. You do need a warm battery though in order to have regen and peak supercharging speed though, but the car can and will still drive on a normal cold battery. People in norway get far harsher winters than we do in america and their teslas still function fine.

Model 3 battery packs don't even have a dedicated heater, they rely on waste heat from the drive unit to warm the battery. so tesla has already determined that heating the battery isn't the biggest deal.

But yes, this is why electric cars use more power in the winter (but gasoline cars do too). In the cold, more energy is needed in general to reach optimum operating temperatures.

• Informative
Reactions: jboy210 and Rocky_H