Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Battery imbalance cell reading changes

5JWX

Oct 31, 2022
UK
I have a 2014 Model S with a refurbished 2020 85 battery pack. Car won’t drive or charge, shows numerous errors
Using scan my Tesla I have a big imbalance issue, ranges in seconds from 1000 to 2245mV
The bit I don’t understand is the voltage in modules 8 & 10 fluctuate between 3.6v to 1.6. Guessing I have a coolant leak to have effected 2 modules?
Can anyone confirm the module numbering system?
Anyone had this before, everything I’ve read online has more or less static low voltage not fluctuating like mine.
Thanks

Attachments

• 178E03A5-EE35-447A-AF9C-4E546412C810.jpeg
    178E03A5-EE35-447A-AF9C-4E546412C810.jpeg
    402.7 KB · Views: 105

5JWX

Oct 31, 2022
UK
Update
I have a cell difference 2.5v but the reading are very erratic & does this on modules 8 & 10. It will show all cells approx 3.6v then 2 cells from module 8 & 2 from 10 will suddenly drop to 1.6v then back up to 3.6v the faulty cells are in the same position on scan my Tesla; 1st row top right & 2nd row bottom left. They change at t tree exact same time.
Car is a 2014 model S with reconditioned pack fitted 2.5 years ago by Tesla.
I’ve stripped down the pack expecting to find water/ coolant but cannot visually see anything.
I have isolated each module & checked the voltages. From memory 12 are all 22.76, the lowest reading was 22.74, some 22.75. Which were all much closer than I had expected. My knowledge suggests all my modules are good?

I now assume I have a fault with the BMS circuit boards but how can 2 go down at the same time? Or could it be a BMS wiring fault within the pack, or fault the pack circuit board situated at the rear of the pack?
Has anyone come across this?