Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Battery Replacement under Warranty: What is the Current Model of my Battery?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
My 2021 M3P (11,000 miles) will get a new/reconditioned/whatever battery pack under warranty, due to severe loss of range overnight (down to 220 miles @90% charge)

What is the model number of my battery pack? Because I am the lucky owner of the then-new 82KWh batteries that came out right before I bought my car, I want to make sure that they don't replace with the older, 79KWh version.

Also: I am at a loss how Tesla can install reconditioned batteries that will last? Do they pick through old battery packs and select those for my replacement pack that still measure OK? Or what does "reconditioned" mean for a battery pack?

Thanks, Clyde

Last edited:
I am not a lawyer, but I believe what they are guaranteeing you with the warranty is that you will be returned to the range your car should have for its age, etc, not that they are replacing the part with the exact part.

I dont have the answer to your question, but I dont know if you will get to "make sure they dont replace it with the older version". I would look carefully at the warranty document to see what it says, so you dont get surprised. Perhaps I am incorrect on this though. Here is a link to the warranty document for model 3, along with what I believe is the relevant section.

Note, I am not saying " I know its this way" I am saying " I think thats what it says, I would check if I were you". Any "tesla cant do XXX" would need to be directed toward them, if you are not happy with what they end up doing.

(page 7)

Screen Shot 2022-05-02 at 8.28.02 PM.png

The plot thickens:
The service advisor confirmed that I will get a brand new battery, but- wait! "it's a 75kwh battery like all our dual motor batteries are now".