Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Battery Size thoughts

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I've been driving EV's since 2011, my first being a conversion I did myself of a 1985 Mazda RX-7 to 100% battery Electric. That car had only a 16 kwh battery and so the range was a maximum of 80 miles under optimum conditions (200 wh/mile). I could drive it like a madman on the worst days and still get 40 miles. I drove it as my daily for 4 years. During that time I was watching the supercharger network build out and when it became adequate for actual cross country travel I bought a CPO Model S so I could get rid of my ICE vehicle that I was only using for road trips. I have put 45000 miles on my S in the last 2 years about half of which were on road trips. I have visited 117 different Supercharger locations so far. I believe I have considerable experience road tripping my Tesla. While I like my Model S it is a larger car than I need. I have a Model 3 on order and I know I want AWD and Air suspension so I have around a year to wait for the car. The options other than the battery pack size are all a personal preference thing. With the larger battery pack being a $9000 upgrade the question is who would really need this?

With the smaller battery pack we have a rated range of 220 miles. Two years ago I would have said that this is not enough to do road trips but with the additional build out of the supercharger network this is no longer true. 220 miles is more than enough to drive coast to coast and there are very few trouble spots even on a cold winter day with a headwind. So you no longer need to worry about that $9000 expense if your anxiety was for road trip range.