Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Battery Swapping station "inventory" provided by trade-ins

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
First, let me start by saying this entire thread is complete conjecture, but of course, when has that ever stopped a good idea?

Facts based on verified (fully or partially) accounts on TMC:

1. Tesla is buying used Model S vehicles from owners switching up to the P85D.
2. Used inventory is being shipped to California.
3. Tesla is not offering said inventory for sale (yet).
4. New battery swap station is under construction in California (Harris Ranch).
5. Tesla is somewhat production constrained on battery cells.

Guesses:

6. Some goodly percentage of used Tesla inventory contains older "A", "B" battery packs
7. If newer "D"/"E" battery packs are used to stock the battery swapping stations, this might allow customers to leave their old "A", "B" packs behind

NIFTY IDEA:

8. Take used inventory Model S battery packs and put them in the swapping stations.
9. Put new "E" packs in the old used inventory and provide "from new" warranty essentially making these cars worth more than used cars elsewhere (eBay, etc. outside of Tesla)
10. PROFIT

Comments welcome.

11. Tesla charges your credit card the difference in value of the "E" pack you kept & the "A" pack you abandoned at the swapping station (nothing is free).

Right, but what is that difference going to be, a few hundred, maybe a thousand $?
In the scenario where Tesla builds "E" packs that stock battery swapping stations, these packs did not go into a car for sale, thus "losing" $25K per pack!
Remember, Tesla have 27% profit margin on average $110K sale in Q4 2014.

*Total wild guess.

if someone keeps an "E" & leaves behind an "A" with 30k miles I wouldn't be surprised if the charge was $10,000 or so.