Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Bay Area Service

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hello,
I am kind of new at the roadster and plan to drive this car few times a week.
It sounds like there are two things I should consider:

1.) install the OVMS v3 (does not look easy)
2.) relocate the 12V battery to the trunk (or I should buy a jack lift and do it myself and keep the car original?)
3.) install 220v at the garage to make the battery healthier

Can someone recommend me a shop to accomplish 1 and 2? Anything else I should consider to make this car last?

For 1, are you concerned about the software installation and configuration procedure or the hardware installation in the car? I think the software installation wizard is quite good, especially for an open-source project. And the hardware installation is simply a matter of plugging and velcro-ing so long as you are willing to temporarily let the antenna cable run exposed across the passenger dashboard to a spot at the base of the windshield. A cleaner antenna cable installation can come later.

For 2, most owners have just left the battery in the original location under the headlight.

The difficulty of 3 can vary substantially depending upon the distance between your main panel and garage, construction details, etc.

thanks for the prompt reply.
For 1. I am concern on the hardware.... is there a step by step for dummy or a video?
For 2, I just need a lift jack. take the tire out and replace it right?
For 3. I read we have tax credit 30% off up to 1k. Since I plan to get model y next year. I am thinking install the $500 Tesla wall connector. Will that work with 2010 roadster as well?

Anything else I should look into? I assume same as my old model 3. I try to keep the car charge 24/7 until 80% full?