TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Belated new member intro

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by gregd, Dec 18, 2016.

1. gregd

gregd Active Member

Ok, so I'm more than a little late doing this (just noticed the sub-forum...). Been a Tesla owner (2010 Roadster 2.0) for almost exactly 2 years, joined TMC within days of delivery.

I'd lusted over the Roadster for years, ever since seeing one at work during an Earth Day event held there. Way out of my reach, financially, but the idea of building an electric car had been brewing for a while. I'm an engineer by trade (computer software, hardware, storage, networking) so the mind wanders while on my 25 mile (each way) commute. Back-of-the-envelope calculations of range / battery capacity, the impact of the 1,000 elevation gain at highway speeds on the way home, lack of charging at work, etc. Just wasn't adding up. When Tesla opened a Service Center near where I work, I remembered the Roadster, and would occasionally refresh an internet search for the mystical car.. Always too expensive, wrong model, wrong color, etc.

Then one day, about a week before Christmas 2014, I hit refresh again. Cr*p. There it was. Model, color, options, price, etc, all right. I suddenly had my doubts. Still a lot of money to spend on a car. Was I worthy? Long story short, and with the encouragement of my wife and kids, it was in my driveway 2 weeks later. Best decision ever.